Adare find Nemo Rangers a step too far in Munster championship

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Adare find Nemo Rangers a step too far in Munster championship

Adare's Jack English is challenged by Paul Kerrigan of Nemo Rangers

THE fairytale season ended for Adare this Sunday afternoon in the Munster club SFC semi final.

The first time Limerick SFC winners ended up a beaten side, 2-17 to 0-4 against Cork’s Nemo Rangers in Mallow. 

Adare were to score just once from play in the one-sided contest.

It’s a result that means the respective Limerick champions are now nine seasons without a win in this championship. Indeed the last win was the day Dromcollogher-Broadford were crowned winners in 2008.

In this semi final, Adare trailed 2-6 to 0-2 at half time.

The Limerick champions never got to grips with the pace, intensity and power of the Cork champions in that opening 30-minutes.

Nemo were the hottest of 1-14 favourites and they started the better and had 1-3 to no score on the board by the 13th minute.

Paul Kerrigan the opening two points from play.

The first goal came in the 10th minute from Luke Connolly.

It was to be the 14th minute before Mark Connolly opened the Adare account.

Their only other score of the half came from a Hugh Bourke free in the 26th minute.

That left it 1-5 to 0-2 and Adare would have taken that scoreline to the interval dressing room.

Alas Nemo found late scores to open a 10-point half time lead.

Bourke brothers Hugh and Robbie supplied the second half scores for Adare – both from frees.

Adare needed a good restart if this was to develop into a contest but Nemo had the early second half scores.

Adare didn’t score in the final quarter as Nemo booked their final spot against Dr Crokes.

SCORES: Adare: Hugh Bourke 0-2 (2frees), Mark Connolly and Robbie Bourke (free) 0-1 each. Nemo Rangers: Paul Kerrigan 0-6 (1free), Luke Connolly (0-3frees), Barry O’Driscoll (0-2frees) 1-3 each, Conor Horgan 0-2, Jack Horgan, Colin O’Brien, Kevin Fulignati 0-1 each.

ADARE: James Hickey; Oran Collins, Aodhan O’Connor, Eoghan Costello; Eoin Ryan, David Connolly, Paul Maher; Shane Doherty, Stephen Keeley; Charlie McCarthy, Jack English, Mikey Lyons; Mark Connolly, Robbie Bourke, Hugh Bourke. Subs: Davey Lyons for Charlie McCarthy (35mins), Andrew O’Connell for Stephen Keeley (49mins), Jack Fitzgerald for Paul Maher (53mins), David O’Connor for Oran Collins (53mins), Liam Costello for Mark Connolly (54mins), Billy Supple for Jack English (57mins).

NEMO RANGERS: Micheal Martin; Kevin O’Donovan, Aidan O’Reilly, Alan Cronin; Jack Donovan, Stephen Cronin, Kevin Fulignati; Alan O’Donovan, Jack Horgan; Barry O’Driscoll, Paul Kerrigan, Colin O’Brien; Luke Connolly, Paddy Gumley, Ciaran Dalton. Subs: Conor Horgan for Luke Connolly (35mins), Michael Dorgan for Jack Horgan (45mins), Aidan Greaney for Paddy Gumley (45mins), Colm Kiely for Colin O’Brien (53mins), Ciaran O’Shea for Aidan O’Reilly (53mins), Shane Martin for Kevin Fulignati (57mins).

REFEREE: Alan Kissane (Waterford).