Newcastle West power on in All-Ireland Junior Cup

Newcastle West power on in All-Ireland Junior Cup

Damien Kelly, Newcastle West, looks to get past Richard Dunne, Enniscorthy, during their All-Ireland Junior Cup game in Cullinagh

NEWCASTLE West RFC powered their way into the quarter-finals of the Ulster Bank League All-Ireland Junior Cup, thanks to a thrilling 30-25 victory over Enniscorthy RFC at Cullinagh.

Newcastle West recovered from a 10-0 first half deficit on Saturday to score three excellent tries and secure their place in the last eight at the expense of the two-time All-Ireland Junior Cup winners and last season’s beaten finalists Enniscorthy.

This is the 13th season of the competition with Newcastle West returning to action in a quarter-final fixture on November 11.

After falling 10 points down, resilient Newcastle West rallied with a fine try from Dave Foley which was set up by Sean Herlihy’s crossfield kick. Herlihy also converted to make it 7-10.

The Co Wexford side responded with their second try of the game soon after. However, a Timmy Kelliher penalty for the home side reduced the visitors half-time lead to 15-10.

Newcastle West made the perfect start to the second half when Darragh Tracy got in on the try-scoring act with Herlihy’s conversion making it 17-15 to the home side.

The home side moved further clear with Herlihy kicked a further penalty on 50 minutes and an opportunistic try from Brian O’Sullivan on the hour mark, again converted by Herlihy, helped Newcastle West into a sizeable 27-15 lead.

Enniscorthy weren’t done yet, however, and two quick fire tries cut the West Limerick side’s lead to just two points, 27-25.

However, home supporters’ nerves were settled just on full-time when Herlihy kicked a match clinching penalty goal to bring his haul of points for the game to 12.

Ulster Bank League All-Ireland Junior Cup first round results:

Newcastle West 30 Enniscorthy 25, Cullinagh

Ashbourne 24 Ballyclare 13, Milltown House

Ballina 35 Portadown 12, Heffernan Park

Clonmel 25 Westport 21, Ardgaoithe

De La Salle Palmerston 7 Connemara 5, Kirwan Park 

Enniskillen (walkover win) v Bandon, Ardgart Road

Instonians 22 Gorey 16, Shaw's Bridge

Monivea 7 Kilfeacle & District 24, Castle Grounds


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.