Munster A roar back to win epic British and Irish Cup final

Munster A roar back to win epic British and Irish Cup final

Munster A captain Cian Bohane and team mates celebrate their thrilling British and Irish Cup final victory

MUNSTER A scored their British and Irish Cup final success in five seasons, as a storming second half comeback helped earn a nail-biting 29-28 victory over the Jersey Reds at Musgrave Park on Friday night.

Munster A’s hopes of success looked slim when they trailed English Championship side Jersey 18-0 coming up to half-time. However, Peter Malone’s side hit back superbly, scoring four tries, three in the second half to record a thrilling success.

Munster will hope the success is the first half of a big weekend double for the province as the senior side face Saracens in a mammoth Champions Cup semi-final at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday.

The scenes of celebration at full-time were in stark contrast to the mood in the stands among Munster fans in the opening minutes as Jersey built that 18-0 lead after just 14 minutes with a try from Nick Scott inside 60 seconds and a second from hooker Joe Buckle as well as eight points from the boot of Callum Sheedy.

Crucially, Munster got themselves back into the game just before half-time when Gavin Coombes dotted down after a period of sustained pressure, while David Johnston converted for 18-7.

Munster made the ideal start to the second half when Kevin O’Byrne crossed after a fine break from Alex Wootton, with Johnston again adding the extras for 18-14.

Jersey hit back with a Kieran Hardy try to lead 25-14, before Munster hit the front with tries from Johnston and Wootton in a blistering four minute spell.

Munster now led 26-25. The see-saw nature of the scoring was not over yet, however, as another Sheedy penalty saw the Reds regain the lead 28-26 after 61 minutes.

However, the decisive score of the game arrived in the 68th minute when Johnston kept his composure to land the match-winning penalty.

MUNSTER 'A': Stephen Fitzgerald; Dan Goggin, Sam Arnold, Cian Bohane (capt), Alex Wootton; David Johnston, John Poland; Peter McCabe, Kevin O'Byrne, Brian Scott, Mark Chisholm, Darren O'Shea, Gavin Coombes, Conor Oliver, Robin Copeland. Replacements: Duncan Casey, Liam O'Connor, Rory Burke, Fineen Wycherley, Sean O'Connor, Abrie Griesel, Greg O'Shea.

JERSEY REDS: Ross Adair; George Watkins, Jordan Davies, Apakuki Ma'afu, Nick Scott; Callum Sheedy, Kieran Hardy; Jake Woolmore, Joe Buckle, Simon Kerrod, James Voss, Pierce Phillips, James Freeman (capt), Gary Graham, Nick Haining. Replacements: Nick Selway, Sean McCarthy, Jake Armstrong, Uili Kolo'ofa'i, Max Argyle; Joel Dudley, Lewis Robling.

REFEREE: Craig Maxwell-Keys (England)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.