Search our Archive


Munster's O'Donnell joins '100 Club' against Glasgow

Munster's O'Donnell joins '100 Club' against Glasgow

MUNSTER back-row forward Tommy O’Donnell will make his 100th appearance for the province in Friday night’s Guinness Pro12 clash with Glasgow Warriors at Scotstoun, 7.35pm.

O'Donnell, made his league debut off the bench against Scarlets in September 2007.

Ireland internationals Conor Murray, CJ Stander and Keith Earls are not involved in the squad in Glasgow after a busy autumn international schedule.

Munster make six changes to the starting team from the side which thumped Treviso last Saturday for the trip to Scotland.

Returning international Peter O'Mahony comes back in to captain the side in a powerful looking back-row.

Four personnel changes are seen in the pack. Niall Scannell returns at hooker, Jean Kleyn and Billy Holland start in the second row and O'Mahony comes back in at 6. The Munster captain's return sees Jack O'Donoghue make the positional switch to number 8.

The final two personnel changes are made in the half backs and midfield with Ian Keatley and Rory Scannell starting at out half and inside centre respectively. Consequently Jaco Taute reverts to outside centre.

Named among the replacements, Donnacha Ryan is another to make a return from international action while scrum half Te Aihe Toma could make his competitive debut for the province.

MUNSTER: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Jaco Taute, Rory Scannell, Ronan O'Mahony; Ian Keatley, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Bill Holland; Peter O'Mahony (Capt), Tommy O'Donnell, Jack O'Donoghue. Replacements: Rhys Marshall, Thomas du Toit, Stephen Archer, Donnacha Ryan, Robin Copeland, Te Aihe Toma, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.