Limerick's Duggan wins PFAI First Division Player of Year

Limerick's Duggan wins PFAI First Division Player of Year

LIMERICK FC captain Shane Duggan was named the Professional Footballers of Ireland (PFAI) First Division Player of the Year for 2016 on Saturday night.

Midfielder Duggan led Limerick to automatic promotion back to the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division for 2017 after the Blues ran out convincing 23 point winners of the First Division.

Twenty seven-year-old Duggan is the first Limerick FC player to win the PFAI First Division Player of the Year accolade since Rory Gaffney in 2012.

The PFAI awards were presented at the Marker Hotel, Grand Canal Square, Dublin on Saturday evening.

Shane Duggan joined his hometown club of Limerick in October 2013, having spent the previous five seasons at Cork City.

Duggan, from Norwood Park, began his career at local club Fairview Rangers. His father Ger won the league and FAI Cup with Limerick in the 1980s.

Winner Shane Duggan was one of two Limerick players nominated for the accolade. Striker Chris Mulhall, who joined the club this season, was also short-listed for the accolade along with Gary O’Neill of UCD.

Mulhall scooped the Limerick FC Players’ Player of the Year award in recent weeks. 

No fewer than eight Limerick FC players were selected on the PFAI First Division Team of the Season with Duggan and Mulhall, joined by Freddy Hall, Robbie Williams, Shane Tracy, Paudie O’Conor, Lee J Lynch and Aaron Greene.



More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.