Eight Munster players named in Ireland squad

Eight Munster players named in Ireland squad

MUNSTER’S John Ryan and Billy Holland are two of six uncapped players included in 34-man squad that will prepare for the Ireland fixture against New Zealand in Chicago on Saturday, November 5.

In all eight Munster players have been named in Joe Schmidt’s squad to face the World champions at Soldier Field, Chicago.

Munster are also represented by Conor Murray, Peter O'Mahony, Donnacha Ryan, CJ Stander, Keith Earls and Simon Zebo. Although Earls is included in the squad, he is suspended for Ireland’s first test against the All-Blacks.

The squad will gather in Carton House on Sunday next, October 30, following the Guinness Pro12 fixtures between Ulster and Munster on Friday (7.05pm) and Leinster and Connacht on Saturday, 5.15pm. The team departs Dublin for Chicago on Monday October 31. 

Ireland Head Coach, Joe Schmidt commented, "Selections were difficult as always; trying to balance form, fitness, experience, combinations plus assess those players returning from injury or those carrying minor knocks or strains.

"With more than half the squad likely to be involved in Pro12 action this weekend, plus the need to factor in the travel and fatigue from the Chicago fixture, there are also a number of players on standby who are likely to be involved during the first two weeks of the Guinness Series."

Ireland squad for Autumn Internationals: Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Rory Best (Ulster, capt), Joey Carbery (Leinster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Keith Earls (Munster), Tadgh Furlong (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster), Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Iain Henderson (Ulster), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), Billy Holland (Munster), Paddy Jackson (Ulster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Luke Marshall (Ulster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Luke McGrath (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Sean O'Brien (Leinster), Peter O'Mahony (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), John Ryan (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Devin Toner (Leinster), James Tracy (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Simon Zebo (Munster)



More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.