Patrickswell emphatic winners in Limerick SHC final over Ballybrown

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Patrickswell emphatic winners in Limerick SHC final over Ballybrown

PATRICKSWELL ended a 13 year wait for Limerick SHC in style with an emphatic 1-26 to 1-7 win over Ballybrown.

Their 19th championship title sends them top of the roll of honour with Ahane.

A first title since 2003 books a Munster club SHC semi final against Cork’s Glen Rovers in the Gaelic Grounds on November 5/6.

This was the fourth final meeting of the parishioners and a fourth win for The Well – 1983, ‘87, 95 and now 2016.

Patrickswell dominated much of the opening half to lead 1-10 to 0-5 at half time in front of an attendance of 4953.

Ballybrown had the aid of the gentle breeze but hit 12 first half wides, compared to five for The Well.

It was 0-2 each after five minutes but then Gary Kirby’s men took over to move 1-6 to 0-2 cleare on 13-minutes.

The goal came from Kevin O’Brien after fine move involving brother Thomas and Lar Considine.

Cian Lynch had three from play by half time as Patrickswell led by eight points.

Alan O’Connor, Kyle Loftus and Lee Doolan were on the mark for Ballybrown but the wides hindered their progress.

In the second half Patrickswell secured the title with nine of the first 10 scores to lead 1-19 to 0-6 with just 43-minutes played.

Stephen Foster had a consolation goal for Ballybrown in the 51st minute to leave it 1-21 to 1-7.

That was to be the only Ballybrown score from play in the second half.

At the other end Patrickswell had Barry Foley among the scores as he won his seventh Limerick SHC medal.

SCORERS: Patrickswell: Aaron Gillane 0-7 (5frees), Diarmaid Byrnes 0-6 (5frees), Cian Lynch 0-3, Kevin O’Brien 1-0, Jack Kelleher, Lar Considine and Seanie O’Brien 0-2 each, Mark Carmody and Barry Foley 0-1 each. Ballybrown: Alan O’Connor 0-4 (3frees), Stephen Foster 1-1, Kyle Loftus and Lee Doolan 0-2 each.

PATRICKSWELL: Brian Murray; Thomas Nolan, James Mann, Neil Carmody; Mark Carmody, Diarmaid Byrnes, Nigel Foley; Jack Kelleher, Barry Foley; Aaron Gillane, Seanie O’Brien, Cian Lynch; Lar Considine, Kevin O’Brien, Thomas O’Brien. Subs: John Flynn for Thomas Nolan (55mins), Andrew Carroll for Seanie O’Brien (55mins), Peter Harty for Lar Considine (55mins), Keith Dundon for Neil Carmody (57mins), David Woulfe for Kevin O’Brien (57mins).

BALLYBROWN: Cian Hedderman; Luke Doran, Mikey Kiely, Stephen O’Reilly; Josh Adams, Richie Kenny, Des Kenny; Shane Kenny, Stephen Foster; Bryan Griffin, Lee Doolan, Ross Griffin; David Hall, Kyle Loftus, Alan O’Connor. Subs: Mark Sheehan for David Hall (40mins), Andrew Cliffe for Lee Doolan (40mins), James Hall for Ross Griffin (48mins), David Hartnett for Josh Adams (54mins).

REFEREE: Jason Mullins (St Kierans).