Joyous scenes as Limerick FC lift league trophy

Joyous scenes as Limerick FC lift league trophy

LIMERICK FC collected the SSE Airtricity League First Division title after a 2-1 win over second placed Drogheda United at the Markets Field.

First half goals from Paul O’Conor and Robbie Williams were enough for a Limerick side that were forced to play with 10 men for the second half after striker Chris Mulhall was sent off.

Drogheda did get a goal back on 84 minutes from Sean Thornton but then had their captain Sean Brennan red carded for a wild tackle 90 seconds later.

Limerick produced some superb football in the first half and could have bagged a couple of more goals before Mulhall’s sending off.

Shane Duggan and Paul O’Conor dominated the midfield exchanges while Aaron Greene and Shane Tracy were a constant threat down the left hand side.

The Super Blues supporters were in full voice from start to finish on Saturday night when Shane Duggan finally raised the First Division league trophy to joyous scenes.

LIMERICK FC: Freddy Hall, Shaun Kelly, Robbie Williams, Paudie O’Connor, Shane Tracy, Stephen Kenny, (Sean Russell 60), Shane Duggan (Capt), Paul O’Conor, Aaron Greene, (Garbhan Coughlan 85), Lee J Lynch, Chris Mulhall.

DROGHEDA UNITED: Stephen McGuinness, Colm Deasy, Kevin Farragher, Luke Gallagher, Derek Doyle, (Stephen Dunne 67), Sean Brennan (Capt), Richie Purdy, Jake Hyland (Sean Thornton h-t), Adam Wixted, (Liam Donnolly h-t), Mark Griffin, Aaron Ashe.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.