Munster beat Leinster in schools rugby inter-pro

Munster beat Leinster in schools rugby inter-pro

MUNSTER Schools made it two wins from two in the interprovincial series after an 8-3 win over Leinster at Thomond Park.

Ben Moloney’s try just before half time proved to be the difference between the two sides in what was an entertaining contest throughout.

The try was the only score of a first half that Munster dominated. Their first attack of the game nearly resulted in a try when Crescent’s Daniel Feasey intercepted in his own 22 and sprinted clear.

He offloaded to Sean French who brought the ball close to the line but his pass for Luke Fitzgerald was poor and the chance was gone.

Two minutes later and Munster were nearly in again. A good dart from scrum half

Craig Casey put Munster into the Leinster 22 but once again the final pass went astray.

Munster did get reward for their first half dominance when Ben Moloney touched down in the 32nd minute.

Colin Deane beat two men on the right hand side before passing to Moloney who showed great speed to finish in the corner. Ben Healy was just wide with the difficult conversion but Munster went in ahead at the break.

Leinster started the second half in positive fashion and got back into the game when David Ryan landed a penalty in front of the posts after 39 minutes.

Healy responded with a superb penalty from the touchline to restore Munster’s lead to five points. That was a lead they did not relinquish despite some late Leinster pressure. 

MUNSTER: Jonathon Wren (PBC); Ben Moloney (Glenstal Abbey School), Seán French (PBC), Luke Fitzgerald (Glenstal Abbey School), JD O'Hea (CBC); Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey School), Craig Casey (Ard Scoil Rís); Josh Wycherley (Cistercian College Roscrea), Daniel O'Connor (CBC), Luke Masters (CBC); Cian Hurley (CBC); Fintan Coleman (Crescent College); Colin Deane (Capt.) (Bandon Grammar School), Daniel Feasey (Crescent College), Luke Clohessy (Ard Scoil Rís). Replacements: Ben Roche (CBC) for Coleman (46 mins), Finn Burke (CBC) for Clohessy (50 mins), George Downing (Glenstal Abbey School) for O’Connor (53 mins), Anthony Ryan (CBC) for Hurley (61 mins), O’Connor for Feasey (64 mins), Travis Coomey (Bandon Grammar School) for O’Connor (67 mins), James McCarthy (Ard Scoil Ris) for Wycherley (67 mins).

LEINSTER: Sam Dardis (Terenure College); Adam La Grue (Terenure College), Liam Turner (Blackrock College), David Ryan (St.Michael's College), Eoin Barr (Gonzaga College), Cormac Foley (St.Gerard's School), Conrad Daly (Clongowes Wood College); Ben Howlett (Newbridge College), Richie Bergin (St.Mary's College), Michael Milne (Cistercian College Roscrea), Ronan Watters (St.Mary's College), Ryan Baird (St.Michael's College) Captain, Reuben Pim (Kilkenny College), Scott Penny (St.Michael's College), Ruadhan Byron (Belvedere College). Replacements: David Hawkshaw (Belvedere College) for Turner (43 mins), Rory McGrath (Terenure College) for Baird (49 mins), Sam Barry (Belvedere College) for Barr, Elliot Ryan (Presentation College Bray for Daly, Adam Fleming (Catholic University School) for Watters (all 53 mins), Luke Rigney (Cistercian College Roscrea) for Howlett (65 mins).

REFEREE: Chris Busby (IRFU)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.