Late Dudley Herbert honoured in U-18 schools interpro

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Late Dudley Herbert honoured in U-18 schools interpro

THE Munster U-18 Schools side will take on Leinster U-18 Schools in the interprovincial series at Thomond Park this Tuesday when the inaugural ‘Dudley Cup’ will be up for grabs.

 Following their 18-15 win over Ulster in the opening match of their Interprovincial Series, the Munster U-18 Schools play the second fixture of the championship at the Limerick venue at 2.30pm

In addition to competing for the series, both sides will also fight it out for the inaugural 'Dudley Cup' in honour of the former Munster Honorary Secretary, the late Dudley Herbert, who sadly passed away last March.

Born in Achill Island, Co Mayo, Dudley Herbert more recently lived at Newtown, Castletroy, and was an art teacher at Crescent College Comprehensive. 

During his teaching years, the former Old Crescent RFC hooker assumed the role as School Head Coach, leading Crescent College Comprehensive to four Munster Schools Senior Cup titles in 1983, 1986, 1989 and 1990. 

Before retiring from coaching in 1992, Dudley served as Ireland 'B' Schools Coach, Munster Schools Coach and the Munster Schools Honorary Secretary from 2011 to 2015. 

Dudley's wife Jackie will present the cup to the winners of Tuesday’s game.

The Munster U-18 Schools side scored two tries in Friday’s win over Ulster.

Crescent College Comprehensive scored a first half try through Daniel Feasey while out-half Ben Healy kicked a penalty goal and conversion.

Healy added a second penalty soon after the break, but it took a late try from Finn Burke to seal the victory.

MUNSTER Schools U-18 v Ulster: Jonathon Wren (PBC); Ben Moloney (Glenstal Abbey School), Sean French (PBC), Luke Fitzgerald (Glenstal Abbey School), JD O'Hea (CBC); Ben Healy (Glenstal Abbey School), Craig Casey (Ard Scoil Rís); Josh Wycherley (Cistercian College Roscrea), Daniel O'Connor (CBC), Luke Masters (CBC); Cian Hurley (CBC); Fintan Coleman (Crescent College); Colin Deane (Capt.) (Bandon Grammar School), Daniel Feasey (Crescent College), Mark Fleming (Glenstal Abbey School). Replacements: George Downing (Glenstal Abbey School), Mark O'Driscoll (St. Munchin's College), James McCarthy (Ard Scoil Rís); Anthony Ryan (CBC), Finn Burke (CBC), Ben Roche (CBC), Travis Coomey (Bandon Grammar School), Cian Fitzgerald (PBC).