All Ireland glory for young Limerick golfers

All Ireland glory for young Limerick golfers

Limerick Golf Club's youngsters pulled off a sensational victory in the Fred Daly Trophy national final played at Galway Golf Club on Tuesday.

Up against a formidable Kilkenny side in the morning semi final, Limerick – who were under the guidance of Limerick Leader golf columnist Ivan Morris - saw off the Leinster champions with ease. It was comfortable in the end with Ciaran Vaughan and Ross Fitzgerald running up 4/3 wins against Kevin Power and James Everard respectively.

In the afternoon final the Limerick boys faced Connacht's Athenry who pulled off an impressive win against the boys of Holywood Golf Club from Belfast.  At one stage in the match, Limerick were up in all five matches and ran out comfortable 4-1 winners in the end, replicating the margin of victory from the semi final.

There were wins for Sean Enright, Ciaran Vaughan and Luke O'Brien in the top three matches to ease the Munster champions to the win.


Limerick 4 Athenry 1

Sean Enright bt Michael Shiel 3/2; Ciaran Vaughan bt Michael Kennelly 3/2; Luke O'Brien 2/1; Morgan Hanley halved with Cillian Lawless; Ross Fitzgerald halved with Louis O'Hara


Athenry 4 Holywood 1

(Athenry names first)

Michael Sheil bt Ben Graham 3/2; Allan Hill lost to Tom McKibbin 2/1; David Kitt bt Keaton Morrison 3/2; Cillian Lawless bt Patrick Greene 2/1; Louis O'Hara bt Seb Ewing 1 hole.

Limerick 4 Kilkenny 1

(Limerick names first)

Sean Enright bt Harry Duggan 2/1; Ciaran Vaughan bt Kevin Power 4/3; Luke O'Brien halved with Jeff Kealy; Morgan Hanley halved with Richard Duggan; Ross Fitzgerald bt James Everard 4/3