New Limerick 7-a-side Gaelic Football tournament launched

New Limerick 7-a-side Gaelic Football tournament launched

THE memory of Shane Hourigan is to be honoured with the inaugural Limerick Big Ball Club 7s.

The Rathkeale GAA club organised event will take place on Saturday August 6 in Mick Neville Park.

The 7-a-side competition and draws for the group stages took place in the Rathkeale House Hotel.

The winner of the competition will secure an invite to the Kilmacud Sevens in Dublin in September.

“The countdown is well and truly underway for the upcoming Limerick Big Ball Club 7’s tournament, which will be held by Rathkeale GAA Club, in memory of Shane Hourigan, who was sadly taken from us in January 2014. As a former club secretary and chairman, Rathkeale lost a great club-man that day, however Limerick GAA also lost a well-known and highly respected referee,” outlined Rathkeale GAA PRO Dave Gilbourne.

”Shane will be remembered amongst all Gaels for his enthusiasm and commitment to the promotion of our games and with that Rathkeale GAA Club plan to honour Shane by running this tournament annually in his memory.”

“The eagerly anticipated competition will be a one day event and will take place on August 6 in Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale. The tournament will pit the very best of Limerick footballers together, with top class competitive football guaranteed by the teams,” outlined Gilbourne of the competition, sponsored by Downes Eurospar, Rathkeale.

Top three teams from Groups A, B, C & D will progress to the last 16, as well as the top four teams from Group E.


GROUP A: Dromcollogher-Broadford, Oola, Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Athea.

GROUP B: Glin, Mungret, St Senans, Adare.

GROUP C: Newcastle West, Cappagh, Rathkeale, Ballylanders.

GROUP D: Pallasgreen, St Kierans, Galbally, Fr Caseys.

GROUP E: Cappamore, Kilteely-Dromkeen, Ballysteen, Claughaun, Galtee Gaels.