01 Jul 2022

The May winners of the Limerick Sports Star awards have been announced

The May winners of the Limerick Sports Star awards have been announced

Limerick AC member Martin Doody and Carrig Celtic’s John Hayes have been named as the Limerick Sports Stars for the month of May.

Caherdavin man Doody was the winner of the Great Limerick Run marathon in a time of 2.38 – and is the first Limerick man to win the race. He is the senior award recipient.

Hayes - who is from Carrigkerry and started his Junior Cert today in SMI Newcastle West - captained the Desmond League U-15 team to the All Ireland Inter-League title. It marked the Desmond League’s first All Ireland success at any age grade. He is the winner of the Young Sports Star award.

The Limerick Sports Star award which is organised by the Limerick Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa and the Limerick Leader honours the outstanding sporting candidate for their achievements in a given month.

The winners are announced monthly but presented quarterly at a lunch in the Limerick Radisson Blu. Each winner is presented with a personalised silver presentation plate from Keane’s Jewellers.  

The next presentation will be on Thursday, August 4, when the May, June and July winners will be honoured.

In addition each winner will be invited back to a Gala dinner in January when the Limerick Sports Star of the Year will be announced.

The judges for the Limerick Sports Star are: Steven Miller (Sports Editor, Limerick Leader); Pat Price (Limerick Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa); Stephen Lucey (former Limerick hurler and footballer); Dave Mahedy (UL Director of Sport); Colm Kinsella (Rugby Correspondent, Limerick Leader); Jerome O’Connell (GAA Correspondent, Limerick Leader).

The winners so far this year are:

January – David O’Donovan (Shannon RFC)
February – CJ Stander (Ireland Rugby)
March – Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh hurling)
April – John O’Flynn (Limerick FC)
May – Martin Doody (Limerick AC)

January – Jenna Bromell (Emerald AC)
February – Richie English (Mary I Fitzgibbon Cup)
March – Laura Stack (Milford Camogie)
April – Anthony Barrett (Limerick minor hurling & football and Limerick Youths Soccer)
May – John Hayes (Limerick Desmond League U-15)


- For more on both winners, see this weekend’s print edition of the Limerick Leader

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.