Munster Juniors win interpro series with Connacht success

Munster Juniors win interpro series with Connacht success

THE Munster junior side were crowned interprovincial champions after four years, thanks to a convincing 50-7 win over Connacht at Richmond Park on Saturday.

Munster, who led 21-7 at half-time, scored six tries in all to seal their this success of the campaign.

Munster Coach John O'Neill said: "It was a fantastic performance from the Munster team. They played with ambition and enjoyed themselves.

“The championship was won two weeks ago when we got them together and they just gelled as a group and understood what we were trying to do.

“Today was the culmination of all what we put into it in the last four weeks and it just came right today as we were superior in all phases."

SCORERS - Munster: Colm Skehan 2 tries, Kieran Downey, Nicky Irwin, Dan Horgan, Brian Collins, Warren Kelly tries, John Lillis 4 cons, pen, Sean Herlihy 2 cons. Connacht: L Laheen try, R Keller con.

MUNSTER: Dean O'Brien (Newcastle West); Dan Horgan (Muskerry), Shane Moloney (Thurles), Kieran Merrigan (Clanwilliam), Warren Kelly (St Senan's): John Lillis (Thurles), Nicky Irwin (Thurles); Pa Ryan (St Senan's), Mike Cronin (Castleisland), Colm Skeehan (Thurles); Rory O'Donnell (St Mary's), Dave Foley (Newcastle West); Courtney Canning (Clonakilty) (Capt), Aidan Ware (Old Christians), Kieran Downey (Castleisland). Replacements: Darragh Fitzgerald (St Mary's), Darren Collins (Muskerry), Brendan Childs (Galbally), Ian Fitzgerald (St Senan's), Sean Herlihy (Newcastle West), Aidan Dwyer (Thurles), Brian Collins (St Senan's)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.