Munster juniors face key Connacht clash at Richmond RFC

Munster juniors face key Connacht clash at Richmond RFC

THE Munster Junior side will look to win the interprovincial series against Connacht at Richmond RFC on Saturday, 2.30pm, after securing their second win of the campaign.

Resilient Munster  claimed a thrilling 11-10 win over Ulster to set them up for an Interprovincial title decider against Connacht in Limerick.

Like the previous week against Leinster, Munster had to come from behind to defeat Ulster, having trailed 10-0 at half time and fully avenged last year's 35-0 defeat at Larne.

Munster found themselves 3-0 behind after four minutes and the home side fell further behind when a move broke down on the half way line and Ulster winger Andrew Pollock touched down in the corner. Cousens converted to make it 10-0.

With the elements at their back Munster took the game to Ulster and Thurles’ John Lillis kicked a penalty goal five minutes into the second half.

Munster closed the gap on sixty three minute with Ian Fitzgerald touching down. Lillis conversion attempt came back of the upright.

Four minutes later Lillis put Munster ahead with what proved to be the match-winning penalty goal from the Connacht ‘22.

The tight, tense nature of the game continued.

Ulster threw everything at Munster but a gallant home defence held firm. After two successive wins Munster look forward to Saturday’s crucial fixture with Connacht.

MUNSTER: Dean O'Brien (Newcastle West); Dan Horgan (Muskerry), Shane Moloney (Thurles), Kieran Merrigan (Clanwilliam), Warren Kelly (St Senan's); John Lillis (Thurles), Nicky Irwin (Thurles); Pa Ryan (St Senan's), Mike Cronin (Castleisland), Colm Skehan (Thurles); Rory O'Donnell (St Mary's), Dave Foley (Newcastle West); Courtney Canning (Clonakilty capt, Aidan Ware (Old Christians), Kieran Downey (Castleisland). Replacements: Darragh Fitzgerald (St Mary's), Darren Collins (Muskerry), Brendan Childs (Galbally), Ian Fitzgerald (St Senan's), Sean Herlihy (Newcastle West), Aidan Dwyer (Thurles), Brian Collins (St Senan's)

ULSTER: Chris Cousens (Portadown); Ryan Purvis (Portadown), Scott Young (Ards), Mikey Poskett (Coleraine), Andrew Pollock (Cooke); Stewart Paul (Ards), Stuart McKane (Omagh); Chris Nash (Academy), Kyle Cobane (Clogher Valley), Johnny McIllwaine (Carrickfergus); David Sharkey (Clogher Valley), David Buchanan (Enniskillen); Toby Mannus (Cooke), David Bradford (Bangor), Brian Hughes (Coleraine). Replacements: Stuart Smyth (Grosvenor), Adam Gibney (Carrickfergus), Mike Aspley (Bangor), Adam McGregor (Dromore), Ryan Garrett (Larne), Ryan Bailey (Carrickfergus), Paul Cartmill (Cooke).

REFEREE: G Sheridan (IRFU).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.