Limerick minor football team to play Clare in Munster MFC

Limerick minor football team to play Clare in Munster MFC

THE Limerick minor football team has been announced for Wednesday’s Munster championship tie with Clare.

The Jerry O’Sullivan managed Limerick travel to Miltown Malbey for a 7.00 start to play the home county.

This Tuesday morning the confirmed Limerick team has eight players that saw action in the 2015 championship when opposition was provided by Cork, Waterford and Clare – Aaron Murphy, Fionn Murphy, Colm McSweeney and James Ryan, Adam Kearns, Diarmaid Kelly, Adam Storan and Gearoid Brennan.

The team is captained by Newcastle West’s Diarmaid Kelly.

Dual players Josh Ryan and Anthony Barrett are in the starting team.

Clare have knocked Limerick out of the last three Munster MFCs.

Limerick haven’t won a round one tie in over a decade but will be attempting to book a May 11 semi final against Kerry or Waterford. Defeat this week will see Limerick into a play-off on Wednesday April 20 against Tipperary or Cork.

LIMERICK: Aaron Murphy (Fr Caseys); Gearoid Brennan (Claughaun), Fionn Murphy (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Daniel Enright (Monaleen); Seamus Hurley (Newcastle West), Adam Kearns (St Senans), Oran Collins (Adare);  Josh Ryan (Oola), Diarmaid Kelly (Newcastle West); Eoin O’Mahony (Ballylanders), Colm McSweeney (Gearld Griffins), Noel Callinan (St Kierans); Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock),  Adam Storan (Mungret St Pauls), James Ryan (Athea). Subs: William O’Mahony (Oola), Conor O’Grady (Hospital-Herbertstown), Sean Ryan (Athea), Darragh Ranahan (Ballysteen), Paudie Sheedy (Kilmallock), Luke Cardy (Adare), Eoghan Carew (Monaleen), Jason Kiely (Claughaun), Ciaran Laffy (Mungret St Pauls).