Substitute goals propel Limerick minors to win over Clare

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Substitute goals propel Limerick minors to win over Clare

THE Limerick minor hurlers have advanced to the semi finals of the Munster MHC after a 2-11 to 1-8 win over Clare this Wednesday evening in the Gaelic Grounds.

A crowd of 2240 watched the Pat Donnelly managed Limerick secure a June 29 knockout tie.

Second half goals from subs Josh Ryan and Cian Magner Flynn propelled Limerick past Clare.

It was all square at half time after a tame opening 30-minutes – Limerick 0-7, Clare 1-4.

It was a half that saw Clare backed by the tricky crossfield breeze but only register scores from play in the first and last minutes of the half.

The very first score of the game was a Clare goal with Ian Murray pouncing to punish the Limerick failure to clear their lines inside 60-seconds.

But the response was impressive and immediate with Mark O’Dwyer (free), Conor Boylan and captain Kyle Hayes all pointing before the fourth minute.

At the mid-point of the half Limerick were ahead when O’Dwyer (free), Cal McCarthy and Brian Ryan had successive points for a 0-6 to 1-1 lead.

Then back-to-back defensive errors were punished with Clare frees to tie up the encounter once more.

Another O’Dwyer free looked to have sent Limerick to the interval dressing room with a lead but Conor Tierney had Clare’s first point from play in injury time.

The first goal came 22-minutes into the second half from Josh Ryan to move Limerick 1-11 to 1-7 ahead.

In the remaining 8-minutes they were to score just once more but the goal from Cian Magner Flynn copperfastened the win in what was a tame encounter.

SCORERS: Limerick: Mark O’Dwyer 0-3 (3frees), Josh Ryan and Cian Magner Flynn 1-0 each, Conor Boylan and Kyle Hayes 0-2 each, Cal McCarthy, Brian Ryan, Darragh Carroll (lineball), Ciaran O’Connor 0-1 each. Clare: Sean O’Loughlin 0-5 (5frees), Ian Murray 1-0, Aidan Kennedy 0-2, Conor Tierney 0-1.

LIMERICK: Mark O’Kelly (Croom); Brian Nash (South Liberties); William O’Meara (Askeaton), Brian Timmons (Murroe-Boher); Josh Adams (Ballybrown), Ciaran O’Connor (Kilmallock), Finn Hourigan (Murroe-Boher); Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), Cal McCarthy (Kilmallock); Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Darragh Carroll (Newport), Brian Ryan (South Liberties), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Anthony Barrett (Kilmallock), Mark O’Dwyer (Monaleen). Subs: Cian Magner Flynn (Killeedy) for Anthony Barrett (h-t), Josh Ryan (Doon) for Mark O’Dwyer (43mins), David Woulfe (Kilmallock) for Cal McCarthy (56mins), Conor Flahive (Mungret) for Brian Timmons (57mins), Dan Minihan (Ahane) for Ciaran O’Connor (62mins).

CLARE: Killian Nugent (O’Callaghan Mills); Cian McInerney (Inagh Kilnamona), Damien O’Loughlin (Corofin), Keith White (Inagh Kilnamona); Tobias O’Meara (Killanena), Cathal Noonan (Killanena), Pa Mulready (Sixmilebridge); Ross Hayes (Crusheen), Conor Tierney (St Josephs Doora-Barefield); Sean Kennedy (Kilmaley), David Fitzgerald (Clonlara), Gary Cooney (O’Callaghan Mills); Sean O’Loughlin (Kilmaley), Kieran Galvin (Clonlara), Ian Murray (Bodyke). Subs: Aidan Kennedy (Kilmaley) for Ian Murray (39mins).Sean Costelloe for Cian McInerney, inj (42mins), Tadhg Connellan for Gary Cooney, inj (47mins), Michael Danaher (Cratloe) for Kieran Galvin (57mins).

REFEREE: Thomas Walsh (Waterford).