Search our Archive


Pallasgreen claim U-21 'B' hurling title

Pallasgreen claim U-21 'B' hurling title

Pallasgreen won the first county title of 2016, retaining their U-21 ‘B’ hurling championship in Bruff on Saturday thanks to a 2-11 to 0-9 win over Dromcollogher-Broadford.

Two goals in the final quarter of the game helped add gloss to the score-line in what was a competitive game, especially in the first half.

Two Brian Fanning points in quick succession had Pallas 0-4 to 0-2 up after 11 minutes. At this point Drom-Broadford had all five of the game’s wides and it looked like the west champions could be in for a long afternoon.

However, they fought back to level the game before another flurry of scores had the Jonathan Deere managed east champions ahead 0-8 to 0-5 at the interval.

Drom-Broadford fought back after the break, however, scoring three of the first four points of the half with Shane Murphy, Damien Lacey and Jack O’Sullivan on the mark to reduce the deficit to one point - 0-9 to 0-8.

Two well-taken Brian Fanning scores pushed the gap out the three with time running out for the west Limerick side

Late goals from Alan Cosgrave and Pierce O’Dwyer but the result beyond doubt as the Drom-Broadford defence tired near the end, ensuring that Pallas got the win to retain their title.

SCORERS: Pallasgreen: Brian Fanning 0-4, Pierce O’Dwyer, Alan Cosgrave 1-1 each, John O’Donnell 0-3 (two frees), Darragh Fanning 0-2 (one free, one ‘65). Drom-Broadford: Damien Lacey 0-4 (three frees), Shane Murphy 0-3, Jack O’Sullivan 0-2

PALLASGREEN: Darren Roche; Denis O’Dea, PJ Butler, Luke O’Dwyer; Kevin McMahon, Darragh Fanning, Mark Fitzgerald; Brian McCarthy, Conor Roche; Christian O'Dwyer, Brian Fanning, John Ryan; Pierce O’Dwyer, Alan Cosgrave, John O’Donnell. Subs: Joseph Keogh for Mark Fitzgerald (47 mins); Sean Looby for Pierce O’Dwyer (59 mins); Shane Murphy for Christian O’Dwyer (59 mins); Aaron O’Sullivan for John Ryan (59 mins); Adam Ryan for Brian McCarthy (60 mins)

DROM-BROADFORD: Michael Browne; Daniel Noonan, Glen McNamara, Jamie O’Brien; Jack Ryan, Sean O’Sullivan, Paddy Lordan; Damian Lacey, Damien Burke; Shane Murphy, Denis Donegan, Jack O’Sullivan; Nigel O’Callaghan, Luke Brudair, Daniel Curtin. Subs: Billy Foley for Luke Brudair (35 mins); Declan Stack for Daniel Curtin (43 mins); Eoghan Lordan for Denis Donegan (60 mins)

REFEREE: Richard Moloney (Bruff).

- For more on this game, see the weekend print edition of the Limerick Leader

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.