Limerick confirm line-up for Clare hurling decider

Limerick confirm line-up for Clare hurling decider

LIMERICK hurling manager TJ Ryan has revealed his hand for Sunday’s winner-takes-all Allianz Hurling League clash with Clare.

Sunday’s game has a 2.00 start in Cusack Park in Ennis as Limerick bid to win promotion and end a six year stay outside of the top flight in the league.

Both Shannonside rivals enter the final round group game on the back of four game unbeaten runs.

However, if the sides finish level it will be Limerick that gain promotion with the better scoring difference.

TJ Ryan and backroom team Davy Clarke, Don Flynn, Dinny Cahill and Joe O’Connor have selected their strongest available side.

Captain Nickie Quaid returns in goals after Barry Hennessy played last week against Laois.

The full back was regular throughout the league with Tom Condon, Richie McCarthy and Richie English.

In the half back line Dan Morrissey gets the nod over Paudie O’Brien and Barry O’Connell to join Diarmaid Byrnes and Seamus Hickey.

Paul Browne is joined in midfield by John Fitzgibbon, who sparkled in the 32-point win over Laois last Saturday.

In attack, Gavin O’Mahony is selected at centre forward with U-21 players Barry Nash and Cian Lynch on the wings.

Declan Hannon returns at full forward with Graeme Mulcahy and Tom Morrissey in the corner forward roles.

In total five members of Limerick’s All Ireland winning U-21 side are selected – English, Byrnes, Nash, Lynch and Morrissey.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid; Tom Condon, Tom Condon, Richie McCarthy, Richie English; Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Seamus Hickey; John Fitzgibbon, Paul Browne; Barry Nash, Gavin O’Mahony, Cian Lynch; Graeme Mulcahy, Declan Hannon, Tom Morrissey.