Search our Archive


Crescent face Pres' in Munster Schools Junior Cup semi-final

Crescent face Pres' in Munster Schools Junior Cup semi-final

In full voice: Crescent College's fans

CRESCENT College Comprehensive will look to maintain their hopes of a big double when their Junior Cup side face PBC, of Cork, in the semi-final of the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Junior Cup at Musgrave Park today, Tuesday, 2.30pm.

Crescent College’s senior side is already through to the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Senior Cup final with the Dooradoyle side facing CBC, of Cork, at Musgrave Park on Sunday, March 13.

Crescent beat holders Christian Brothers College at Thomond Park in the opening round of the Junior Cup  before seeing off Castleroy College in the quarter final when they claimed an impressive 29-3 win.

Crescent have a highly impressive record in the Junior Cup, reaching five of the last six finals at U-16 level. However, havin won the title in both 2010 and 2011, Crescent have lost each of the last three finals at Junior Cup level.

Today’s semi-final opponents PBC overcame St Clements College in the opening round before claiming victory over Rockwell College in Clanwilliam Park in the quarter final.

The second semi-final in the Clayton Hotels Munster Schools Junior Cup takes place tomorrow, Wednesday, when Glenstal Abbey make the trip to Cork to take on holders CBC at Musgrave Park, 2.30pm.

Crescent College Junior Cup team v PBC: Dan Larkin; Ben Carew, Jamin Hoffman, Jack Delaney, Timothy Duggan; John Hurley (Capt), David Ahearne Forwards - Conor Fitzgerald, Ronan Reynolds, Ronan Gallery; Cillian O'Malley, Cian McDonagh; Oisin Evans, Alan Garland, Jack Madden. Replacements: Charlie Dineen, James Hanley, Eoin Feeney, Barry Murphy, Tristan Allen, Maccon Casserly, Mark McCrann, Cian Tuohy.

PBC: Mark McLaughlin; Brian Lynch, Louis Bruce, Sam Horgan, Andrew Geaney O'Brien; Niall Murphy, James O'Shaughnessy Forwards - Mark Fitzgibbon, Fionn Keohane, Alex Keating; David McCarthy, Eoin Quilter; Sean-Henry Squires, Liam Ryan, Aodhlaoibh Porter (Capt). Replacements: Billy Kingston, Richie Foley, Ben Quigley, Alex Kendellan, Joe O'Leary, Ronan Walsh, Mark Traynor, Conor Morey.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.