Limerick hurlers name team for league opener

Limerick hurlers name team for league opener

Limerick manager TJ Ryan has named his side for Saturday’s Allianz Hurling League Division 1B game in the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night.

Limerick give debuts to three of last year’s All Ireland U-21 team – Richie English at corner-back, Diarmuid Byrnes at centre-back and Barry Nash at corner-forward. They are joined by two more of last year’s U-21 team – Tom Morrissey and Cian Lynch.

No Na Piarsaigh player is included in the starting 15 ahead of their All Ireland club final next month.

Wexford have also named their team and must do without the injured Conor McDonald, Paul Morris, Diarmuid O;keeffe and Shane Tompkins. The game is at 7pm and supporters are urged to arrive early to avoid queues for tickets. The game is also live on Setanta.


Nickie Quaid (Effin)(Captain)Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock)Richie English (Doon), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Seamus Hickey (Murroe Boher), John Fitzgibbon (Adare), 9Paul Browne (Bruff), David Reidy (Dromin Athlacca), Gavin O Mahony (Kilmallock), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Declan Hannon (Adare) Barry Nash (South Liberties)


1. Mark Fanning (Glynn-Barntown)

2. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)

3. Matthew O’Hanlon (St James – captain)

4. James Breen (Adamstown)

5. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)

6. Andrew Shore (Parnells – Dublin)

7. Paudie Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)

8. Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers)

9. Harry Kehoe (Cloughbawn)

10. Liam Óg McGovern (St Annes)

11. Aidan Nolan (Half Way House/Bunclody)

12. Ian Byrne (Ferns St Aidan’s)

13. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarrett)

14. Jack Guiney (Rathnure)

15. David Dunne (Davidstown-Courtnacuddy)