20 May 2022

Limerick bow out of Munster Senior Camogie Championship as Tipperary ease to victory

Limerick Tipperary

Limerick's Muireann Creamer and Mairead Ryan tackle Tipperary's Niamh Treacy in the TUS Gaelic Grounds. PIC; Sportsfile

DEFEAT for Limerick in the Munster Senior Camogie Championship this Saturday evening.

In the curtain-raiser to the Munster hurling clash, it finished Limerick 0-8 Tipperary 1-17.

The wait continues for a first win of the season for the John Lillis managed Limerick who now turn attentions to the All-Ireland Championships. 

The Premier County now advance to play Clare in the semi final next Sunday May 1 as the curtain-raiser to Clare v Cork in the Munster SHC in Thurles.

Four straight defeats resulted in relegation from Division One for Limerick in the Littlewoods Ireland League.

They looked to gain confidence in this Munster Championship campaign but were on the backfoot from the off with Tipperary scoring freely.

Tipperary played with the aid of the strong breeze and were 0-11 to 0-2 ahead at half time.

It was an opening half in which all six of the Tipperary forwards found the range.

Limerick's two scorers were Orlaith Kelleher and Caoimhe Costelloe ('45).

The only Limerick score from play came in the third minute from midfielder Kelleher. Across the half Limerick did have six wides - four more than their opponents.

That Kelleher score left it 0-2 to 0-1 to the visitors to the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

In reply to the opening Limerick score came the first run of scores for those in blue and gold. By the 10th minute they were 0-6 to 0-1 ahead with Claire Hogan and Roisin Howard leading the way with scores.

And, the lead could have been greater but Claire Keating was alert in the Limerick goal to save from Hogan in the fourth minute.

Fifteen minutes without a Limerick score was ended by a Costelloe '45 in the game's 18th minute. It was her shot for a goal that was saved by Aine Slattery.

That had the game at 0-6 to 0-2 and just past the mid-point of of the first half.

Alas, Limerick didn't score again and Tipperary hit five-in-a-row.

The successive scores from Tipperary eased them to a nine point interval lead.

Limerick made no in-roads on the change of ends.

Costelloe (free) did reopen the scoring but then came another run of scores for the eventual winners to ease 0-14 to 0-3 ahead on 40-minutes.

And the lead would have been greater but for more timely saves from Claire Keating between the posts for Limerick.

Caoimhe Lyons did find the range for Limerick and entering the final quarter it was 0-14 to 0-4.

Costelloe had further scores from placed balls but there was no way back for Limerick in a game that had a Cait Devane goal in the second minute of injury time.

SCORERS: Limerick: Caoimhe Costelloe 0-5 (3frees, 1 '45), Orlaith Kelleher, Caoimhe Lyons and Sarah O'Brien 0-1 each. Tipperary: Cait Devane 1-4 (3frees, 1 '45), Claire Hogan 0-4, Roisin Howard and Casey Hennessy 0-3 each, Niamh Treacy, Clodagh McIntyre and Jenny Grace 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Claire Keating (Cappamore); Emma Kennedy (Doon), Marian Quaid (Bruff) Stephanie Woulfe (Templeglantine); Mairead Ryan (Bruff), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Neamh Curtin (Ballybrown); Sophie O'Callaghan (Adare), Orlaith Kelleher (Croagh-Kilfinny); Michelle Curtin (Templeglantine), Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), Lizzie Boylan (Na Piarsaigh); Ailbhe Larkin (Mungret St Pauls), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Caoimhe Costelloe (Adare). Subs: Niamh Ryan (Bruff) for Neamh Curtin (h-t), Ashling Scanlon (Killeedy) for Lizzie Boylan (35mins), Lorraine McCarthy (Bruff) for Emma Kennedy (56mins), Sarah O'Brien (Templeglantine) for Michelle Curtin (56mins), Teresa Dore (Charleville) for Stephaine Woulfe (56mins), Leah Riordan (Granagh-Ballingarry) for Ailbhe Larkin (59mins).

TIPPERARY: Aine Slattery; Julieanne Bourke, Mary Ryan, Eimear Loughman; Ciardha Maher, Caoimhe Maher, Aoife McGrath; Grace O'Brien, Niamh Treacy; Jenny Grace, Roisin Howard, Casey Hennessy; Claire Hogan, Cait Devane, Clodagh McIntyrne. Subs: Caoimhe McCarthy for Niamh Treacy (43mins), Eimear Heffernan for Aoife McGrath (47mins), Nicole Walsh for Jenny Grace (51mins), Eimear McGrath for Clodagh McIntyre (53mins), Courtney Ryan for Caoimhe Maher, inj (57mins), 

REFEREE: Aaron Hogg (Clare).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.