Ardscoil Ris defeat sets up big Limerick Harty Cup derby

Jerome O’Connell


Jerome O’Connell

Ardscoil Ris captain Ronan Lynch
CHAMPIONS Ardscoil were beaten 3-12 to 0-12 by Thurles CBS this Tuesday in round two of their Harty Cup title defence.

CHAMPIONS Ardscoil were beaten 3-12 to 0-12 by Thurles CBS this Tuesday in round two of their Harty Cup title defence.

The defeat for the city side sets up a mouth-watering tie against West Limerick Colleges in the next round on November 19

The west Limerick amalgamation already drew with Thurles and the Limerick derby now looks to be a decisive game in determining who will eventually reach the quarter final of the Munster Post Primary Schools senior A hurling championship.

In this tie in Nenagh, Ardscoil Ris always appeared to be playing catch-up to a Tipperary side that struck two key goals in the opening half.

Thurles led 2-3 to 0-6 at the break after 30-minutes in which the Limerick side hit nine wides and Thurles recorded eight.

Na Piarsaigh club trio Peter Casey, Conor Boylan and Conor Houlihan were all on target in that opening half but in general Ardscoil Ris overly relied on captain Ronan Lynch for scores from placed balls.

The third Thurles goal in the fourth minute of the second half left Ardscoil Ris with too much of a mountain to climb, trailing 3-4 to 0-6.

They needed goals but a 50th minute chance for Conor Boylan was the closest they came to raising a green flag.

SCORERS: Ardscoil Ris: Ronan Lynch: 0-8 (6frees, ‘65, lineball), Peter Casey 0-2, Conor Boylan and Conor Houlihan 0-1 each. Thurles CBS: Robbie Long 1-3, Jack Butler, 1-1, Mattie Stakelum 1-0, Ronan Teehan 0-3 (3frees), Michael O’Connor 0-2, Niall Heffernan, Kevin Duggan, Paul Kennedy 0-1 each.

ARDSCOIL Ris: Sean Mullane (Mungret), Michael Andrews (Na Piarsaigh), Peader Collins (Na Piarsaigh), Sean Hogan (Adare); Sean Phelan (Broadford), Thomas Grimes (Na Piarsaigh), Nathan Fox (Parteen); John Flynn (Patrickswell), Mikey Mackey (Adare); Conor Houlilhan (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Paraic O’Loughlin (Clonlara); Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell). Subs: Kevin Howard for Sean Phelan, inj (40mins), Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh) for Sean Hogan, inj (43mins), David Fitzgerald (Clonlara) for Paraic O’Loughlin (48mins), Eoghan Mulcahy (Mungret) for Nathan Fox (49mins), Eoin Ryan (Adare) for Aaron Gillane (56mins).

THURLES CBS: Willie Tierney; Dylan Quirke, Enda Heffernan, Jack Deby; Chris McCullough, Jack Skehan, Ronan Heffernan; Cathal Moloney, Billy McCarthy; Ronan Teehan, Kevin Duggan, Niall Heffernan; Jack Butler, Mattie Stakelum, Robbie Long. Subs: Michael O’Connor for Mattie Stakelum (44mins), Paul Kennedy for Billy McCarthy (44mins), Brendan Kelly for Kevin Duggan (56mins), Rory Purcell for Robbie Long (61mins), Kieran Cummins for Jack Deby (63mins).

REFEREE: Tommy Ryan (Tipperary).

For full match report see the print editions of the Limerick Leader