Limerick's John Kiely guest of honour as students receive JP McManus-backed scholarships

Students receive JP McManus-backed scholarship awards at the University of Limerick

Pictured at the event are Limerick Hurling Manager John Kiely, Scholarship recipients Joseph Foley, from Castletroy, and Megan Hamill, from Armagh, with JP McManus PICTURE: Alan Place

SIX Limerick students have been awarded financial support for the duration of their third level studies as part of an All Ireland scholarship, backed by JP McManus. 

Sponsored by the billionaire philanthropist, 125 Leaving Cert and A-Level graduates, including six Limerick students, have been awarded scholarships worth €6,750 per annum. 

“To our successful scholars I offer heartiest congratulations,” Mr McManus said. 

“Their hard work and commitment has been awarded and they will no doubt build on their success and continue to strive for excellence in their ongoing studies and future careers.” 

Joseph Foley from Castletroy, Eoin Corcoran from Mayorstone, Aoife Murphy from Kilfinny, Ellen Scanlon from Abbeyfeale, Jack Moore from Patrickswell and Clara Terren-Hogan were among the new recipients scholarship for 2018. 

Winners were commended for their achievements by guest of honour, Limerick Senior Hurling manager John Kiely. 

“It is a great honour for me as a former student and graduate of the University of Limerick to return to this stage 22 years since I graduated,” Mr Kiely said. 

As the school principal of Abbey CBS in Thurles, Mr Kiely has watched four of his students receive the scholarship, he added. 

“I have witnessed first hand the excitement, pride and joy the scholarships bring to recipients.” 

"Today is an acknowledgment of their hard work, and the hard work of their teachers in achieving excellence," he added. 

Now in its eleventh year, 1,371 students have now been awarded the scholarship, valued at €6,750 per year, which is awarded to a minimum of two high achieving students from each of the 32 counties.

“The 125 recipients of the All Ireland Scholarship deserve our heartiest congratulations,” Minister for Higher Education Mary Mitchell O’Connor said, speaking at the awards ceremony. 

“They are a credit to themselves, their school, their teachers and of course, their families.” 

“Their path to success through third level has been made smoother and they can face the challenges that await them with confidence.” 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.