Limerick-based players named in Ireland womens side to face Italy

Colm Kinsella


Colm Kinsella


Limerick-based players named in Ireland womens side to face Italy

Laura Sheehan, of UL-Bohs, pictured here scoring for Ireland against the USA, is among the replacements for the Ireland Womens' side's Six Nations clash with Italy this Saturday

The Ireland Women's team to face Italy in the third round of the Women's Six Nations tournament at the Viale Piacenza, Parma, this Saturday at 6.45pm Irish time has been named.

Two Limerick-based players, captain Ciara Griffin at number eight, and winger Eimear Considine, both of UL-Bohemian, have been included iin head coach Adam Griggs starting line-up. 

Three more UL-Bohs players have been included among the Ireland replacements for the game, Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird, Fiona Reidy and Laura Sheehan.

It is the first time Sheehan has been named in the Ireland squad this tournament.

Head Coach Griggs has made just one change to the opening team that overcame Scotland 5-22 in their last outing a fortnight ago in Glasgow. 

Kathryn Dane makes her first start of the tournament coming in at scrum half. 

Ailsa Hughes moves to the bench and joins Lindsay Peat. 

Heading into the mid tournament test, Griggs said "It was great to come away with five points after the Scotland test. It was a physical game in tough conditions, but the players were focused on putting in a good team performance together and showing the quality rugby they can produce. 

"We were pleased with the opportunities that we created and while the challenge for this group is to become even more clinical under pressure, we definitely feel each week we are improving and taking the right steps to get there. 

"The Italian game should be a cracker, they have played well of late and are unbeaten so far in this championship which isn’t easy to do. 

"We have been preparing diligently and know they have quality footballers that will put you under real pressure, we will need to be aware of these and look to close them down early if we are to get any success this Saturday night." 

The match will be broadcast live by RTE, with coverage beginning at 6.30pm 

Ireland Women’s Team v Italy

15. Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby)
14. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
13. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
12. Michelle Claffey (Blackrock/ Leinster)
11. Alison Miller (Old Belvedere/ Connacht)  
10. Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/ Connacht)
9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster) 
1. Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht)
2. Emma Hooban (St Mary’s College/ Leinster)
3. Leah Lyons (Harlequins)
4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/ Leinster)
5. Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/ Connacht)
6. Anna Caplice (Richmond) 
7. Claire Molloy (Wasps)
8. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/ Munster) Capt 

16. Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
17. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster) 
18. Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
19. Claire Boles (Railway Union)
20. Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)
21. Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
22. Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)
23. Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemians/ Munster)