Memories – 50 years – details of ward system announced


THE Minister for Local Government, Mr Neil Blaney has notified the Limerick Corporation that he intends to make an Order under the Local Government Electoral Acts to divide the city into wards for the forthcoming local elections. 

There will be three four-seat wards and one five-seat ward embracing 17 seats, and the biggest ward will be located in St John’s parish, St Mary’s parish, St Patrick’s and Corbally.

The decision of the Minister whose draft order was received in the Town Hall this morning has ended much speculation.