28 Sept 2022

SLIDESHOW: Limerick v Cork Hibs, Markets Field, January 1970

LIMERICK entertained Cork Hibs in a big League of Ireland Munster derby at the Markets Field on January 11, 1970.

A bumper attendance turned out to watch the game at the Garryowen venue.

A goal from Donal Leahy, who had scored four in his three previous games, helped the Blues record a deserved 1-0 victory over the Leesiders.

With 12 wins from their 26 league fixtures, Limerick finished the season in fourth place in the league table, five points behind third-placed Cork Hibs.

The league title was won by Waterford, who finished two points clear of second-placed Shamrock Rovers.

Limerick bowed out of the FAI Cup in the second round at the hands of Waterford at a rain-soaked Markets Field in a replay when Johnny Mathews scored the only goal after just 30 seconds. 

That 1969/1970 season did see Limerick capture the Dublin City Cup, the club's first major trophy in 10 years.

Limerick defeated league champions Waterford 3-2 in the final at Kilcohan Park when Andy McEvoy, two, and Tony Fitzgerald were the goalscorers.

The Limerick team on the day was: Kevin Fitzpatrick, Joe Bourke, Pat Lawlor, Vincent Quin, Al Finucane, Joe O'Mahoney, Tony Meaney, Andy McEvoy, Tony Fitzgerald, Eddie Donovan and Patsy Doran. 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.