WATCH: Limerick's Crescent College lose All Ireland Basketball final to Scoil Chriost Rí Portlaoise

Leader Reporter


Leader Reporter


Limerick's Crescent College Comprehensive missed out on the U16A All Ireland title today, losing out 36-68 Scoil Chriost Rí Portlaoise (Laois) at the National Basketball Arena.

Scoil Chriost Ri Portlaoise were crowned Subway Schools Under 16 A champions for the second year in-a-row this afternoon with a comprehensive 68-36 point win over Limerick’s Crescent Comprehensive.

An MVP display from Portlaoise teen Shauna Dooley was the driving force behind the school’s back-to-back wins, and she, along with Sarah Fleming, Grainne O’Reilly and Ciara Byrne proved to be too much for Crescent Comprehensive.

A tough and competitive first half though kept fans on the edge of their seats as strong scoring from Crescent’s Aoife Morrissey and Tara Nealon kept the game neck-in-neck early on. For Portlaoise though, Dooley finished the quarter with some good scores to see them ahead 14-9 at the end of the first.

More tough work from Crescent in the second quarter kept the intensity high, with Nelaon and Sophie Moore again proving to be tough to guard for Chriost Ri, but again, Dooley and Fleming were on hand for Portlaoise to extend the lead, and by the half, they were up 29-18.

It was the third quarter where Portlaoise really stamped their authority on the game though, with Grainne O’Reilly and Fleming dominating the scoring for Portlaoise. Jasmine Burke hit her stride too and soon the margin had opened up to 52-20 heading into the third.

Another tough battle ensued in the fourth but the mountain was too big to climb for Crescent Comprehensive and Scoil Chriost Ri were crowned champions on a final scoreline of 68-36.

CRESCENT COMPREHENSIVE, LIMERICK: Emma O Brien, Sophie Moore, Tara Nealon, Hannah Dundon, Rachel Buckley, Aoife Morrissey, Sally Dickson, Julia Quinn, Amy O’Byrne, Jodie Waire, Daniela Lukanova, Olivia Otisi.

SCOIL CHRIOST RI, PORTLAOISE: Shauna Dooley, Jade Burke, Ella Byrne, Ciara Byrne, Grainne O’Reilly, Rachel Glynn, Munirat Showobale, Jasmine Burke, Sinead Murphy, Jessica Preston, Rebecca Reddin, Sinead Brady, Sarah Fleming, Eleanor Healy.

MVP: Shauna Dooley (Scoil Chriost Ri, Portlaoise)