LCD Soundsystem to headline Electric Picnic festival

LCD Soundsystem to headline Electric Picnic festival

James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem, among the headliners at Electric Picnic

A REFORMED LCD Soundsystem have been announced at the top of the billing for the Electic Picnic music and arts festival.

The group is focused around the talents of James Murphy and which recently announced plans to reform after disbanding in 2011. Murphy brought his Despacio soundsystem – along with 2manyDJs – to Stradbally last year, and returns on the LCD reunion tour this September.

Lana Del Rey, the Chemical Brothers and New Order complete the initial top billing for Electric Picnic.

27 acts in total were announced this afternoon, also including: HAIM, Super Furry Animals, Years & Years, Todd Terje, Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats, Animal Collective, Gavin James, Wolf Alice, The Avett Brothers, Wild Beasts, Glass Animals, Jack Garratt, Savages, Pantha Du Prince presents The Triad, Phosphorescent, Broken Social Scene, Ezra Furman, Mount Kimbie DJ Set, Daniel Avery, Blossoms, Aurora, NAO, Girls Names and Meilyr Jones.

Further act announcements are expected in the coming months.

Body and Soul, The Salty Dog, Trailer Park, Trenchtown, Theatre of Food and Global Green areas all make a return, as do the Heineken Sound Atlas, Casa Bacardi, Just Eat retreat, Three and Electric Ireland stages.

Tickets for the festival, which takes place from September 2-4, are already on sale, with Sunday day tickets and camper van tickets sold out. Weekend camping tickets are €234.50, while an instalment plan is also available. See for more or 

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.