02 Jul 2022

JP McManus wins National Hunt champion owner accolade for 19th time

JP McManus wins National Hunt champion owner accolade for 19th time

JP McManus, Champion National Hunt owner 2021/2022

LIMERICK man JP McManus has been crowned champion owner for the 2021/2022 National Hunt season.

It is the second successive season that McManus has won the accolade and the 19th time in all he has claimed the champion owner title.

McManus again saw off a strong challenge from Gigginstown House Stud with major success coming from this week’s Grade 1 winner Capodanno and the likes of Darasso, Fakir D'oudairies, Thedevilscoachman and Gentleman De Mee.

Major handicap success came his way with School Boy Hours, A Wave Of The Sea and Birchdale while Shady Operator, The Big Lense and Spades Are Trumps were other notable winners in the famous green and gold hoops.

Presentations to the six National Hunt champions were made by Horse Racing Ireland chairman Nicky Hartery on the final day of the 2021/2022 season at Punchestown on Saturday.

The champions for the 2021/2022 National Hunt season are:

Champion Owner: JP McManus
Champion Trainer: Willie Mullins
Champion Jockey: Paul Townend
Champion Conditional: Jack Foley
Champion Amateur: Patrick Mullins
Champion Lady Amateur Rider: Jody Townend

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.