20 May 2022

Munster Rugby reach 19th Heineken Champions Cup quarter-final after seeing off Exeter

Munster Rugby

Out-half Joey Carbery scores a first half try for Munster in their Heineken Champions Cup clash with Exeter Chiefs at Thomond Park on Saturday

MUNSTER Rugby secured their place in the quarter-finals of this season's Heineken Champions Cup after seeing off a gritty Exeter Chiefs side 26-10 in their second leg last 16 tie at Thomond Park on Saturday.

Munster scored crucial tries in either half through Joey Carbery and Damian De Allende late on in front of a delighted attendance of 21,133 to secure a 34-23 aggregate win over their Premiership opponents to book a 19th Heineken Champions Cup quarter-final spot.

Out-half Carbery bagged all Munster's opening 19 points, the out-half finishing with 21 points in all.

Returning captain Peter O'Mahony turned in a Man of the Match display, helping the home side come out on top in the teak tough breakdown battle.

Despite playing into a strong breeze, Munster Rugby led 13-5 at half-time, having overcome their five point deficit from the first leg.

Munster rallied after falling behind to a Sam Maunder try for Exeter early on and the loss of Conor Murray to a yellow card to lead by eight points at the break.

Exeter hit back and a try on after 49 minutes when No 8 Jacques Vermeulen did enough to squeeze over to make it 13-10 and edge them in front by two points on aggregate after Simmonds fluffed the conversion.

Carbery then kicked two penalties goals to push Munster's aggregate lead to four points.

A 74th minute try from De Allende after he linked up with Simon Zebo sealed the win for the home side.

MUNSTER RUGBY: Mike Haley, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Damian de Allende, Simon Zebo, Joey Carbery, Conor Murray; Josh Wycherley, Niall Scannell, John Ryan, Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley, Peter O'Mahony (Capt), John Hodnett, Jack O'Donoghue.
Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Jason Jenkins, Thomas Aherne, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Alex Kendellen,

EXETER CHIEFS: Stuart Hogg, Olly Woodburn, Henry Slade, Ian Whitten, Tom O'Flaherty, Joe Simmonds, Sam Maunder; Alec Hepburn, Jack Yeandle (Capt), Harry Williams, Jonny Gray, Sam Skinner, Dave Ewers, Jannes Kirsten, Jacques Vermeulen.
Replacements: Jack Innard, Billy Keast, Patrick Schickerling, Richard Capstick, Santiago Grondona, Jack Maunder, Tom Gilbert-Hendrickson, Josh Hodge.

REFEREE: Mathieu Raynal (France)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.