03 Dec 2021

Munster Rugby strike late to deny Connacht in United Rugby Championship

Munster Rugby strike late to deny Connacht in United Rugby Championship

Munster players celebrate Diarmuid Barron's crucial late try in Saturday night's URC win over Connacht at Thomond Park

MUNSTER Rugby left it late to extend their winning start to the new United Rugby Championship at Thomond Park before an official attendance of 17,198 on Saturday night.

A 78th minute try from replacement hooker Diarmuid Barron, converted by Joey Carbery, helped the home side secure a precious 20-18 interprovincial victory over Connacht in front of their biggest home attendance of the season so far.

Just a few minutes earlier Carbery's attempted clearance from defence was charged down by Player of the Match Jack Carty who ran in to score a second try of the game for the visitors.

Carty's successful conversion made it 18-13 to Connacht.

However, on the fifth anniversary of Anthony Foley’s passing, Munster pulled off a last gasp victory victory to remain unbeaten after four rounds of the new URC.

Despite an error-ridden display, Munster managed to sneak a 7-6 interval lead with the home side's points coming courtesy of a Chris Cloete try, converted by Carbery, on the stoke of half-time.

SCORERS: Munster Rugby: Chris Cloete, Diarmuid Barron try each, Joey Carbery two cons, two pens. Connacht Rugby: Jack Carty try, two pens, con, Paul Boyle try.

MUNSTER RUGBY: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Rory Scannell, Simon Zebo; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O'Mahony (Capt), Chris Cloete, Gavin Coombes. Replacements: Diarmuid Barron, Jeremy Loughman, Stephen Archer, Fineen Wycherley, Jack O'Donoghue, Neil Cronin, Jake Flannery, Dan Goggin.

CONNACHT RUGBY: Tiernan O’Halloran, John Porch, Sammy Arnold, Bundee Aki, Mack Hansen, Jack Carty (CAPT), Caolin Blade; Matthew Burke, Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Niall Murray, Ultan Dillane, Cian Prendergast, Conor Oliver, Paul Boyle. Replacements: Shane Delahunt, Greg McGrath, Jack Aungier, Eoghan Masterson, Abraham Papali’i, Kieran Marmion, Jarrad Butler, Tom Daly.

REFEREE: Chris Busby (IRFU)

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.