08 Dec 2021

WATCH: Limerick's Daniel Okeke bags crucial try for Ireland U20s in Six Nations win

WATCH: Limerick's Daniel Okeke bags bonus try for Ireland U20s in Six Nations win

Shannon RFC and Munster Rugby back-row Daniel Okeke

SHANNON RFC and Munster Rugby's Daniel Okeke scored a crucial second half try as Ireland U20s made it back-to-back bonus point wins in the U20 Six Nations with a 40-12 victory over Wales at Cardiff Arms Park on Friday night.

Powerful ball carrier Okeke, who began his rugby playing career with Thomond RFC, was sprung from the bench in the second half and struck for the bonus point try as Ireland secured a maximum five-point haul.

Nineteen-year-old Okeke was an impressive Schools Cup player with Ardscoil Ris and has impressed with the Munster 'A' side.

Former Munster and Ireland back-row Denis Leamy is an assistant coach with the Ireland U20s, while Limerick man Colm Tucker, the former Shannon RFC and UL-Bohemian RFC head coach, is forwards coach with the side.

Richie Murphy’s charges, who were 38-7 winners over Scotland on the opening day, kept hold of top spot in the Under-20 Six Nations table with their strong five-try showing.

With second-placed England also winning their first two U20 Six Nations fixtures in Cardiff, it sets up a mouth-watering Ireland-England duel at the same venue next Thursday (kick-off 8pm).

IRELAND U20: Jamie Osborne (Naas CBS/Naas RFC/Leinster); Ben Moxham (Larne High School/Ballymena RFC/Ulster), Shane Jennings (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Cathal Forde (Colaiste Iognaid/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht), Chris Cosgrave (St. Michael's College/UCD RFC/Leinster); Tim Corkery (St. Kieran's College, Kilkenny/UCD RFC/Leinster), Nathan Doak (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster); Jack Boyle (St. Michael's College/UCD RFC/Leinster), Ronan Loughnane (Cistercian College Roscrea/UCD RFC/Leinster), Mark Donnelly (CBC Cork/Garryowen FC/Munster), Alex Soroka (Belvedere College/Clontarf RFC/Leinster), Harry Sheridan (Sullivan Upper School/Dublin University FC/Ulster), Donnacha Byrne (Summerhill College/Sligo RFC/Connacht), Oisin McCormack (Garbally College/Buccaneers RFC/Connacht), Alex Kendellen (PBC Cork/UCC RFC/Munster) (capt). Replacements used: George Saunderson (Sullivan Upper School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster) for Boyle, Sam Illo (Wesley College/Old Wesley RFC/Leinster) for Donnelly (both 63 mins), Jude Postlethwaite (RBAI/Banbridge RFC/Ulster) for Cosgrave (65), Daniel Okeke (Ardscoil Ris/Shannon RFC/Munster) for Byrne (66), Mark Morrissey (Blackrock College/UCD RFC/Leinster) for Soroka (68), Eoin de Buitléar (Scoil Chuimsitheach Chiaráin/An Ghaeltacht/Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht) for Loughnane (69), Ben Carson (Wallace High School/Banbridge RFC/Ulster) for Corkery (72), Conor Rankin (Campbell College Belfast/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster) for Moxham (74). Not used: Reuben Crothers (Wallace High School/Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster), Conor McKee (Sullivan Upper School/Queen's University Belfast RFC/Ulster), Fearghail O'Donoghue (Cashel Community School/Cashel RFC/Munster).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.