Limerick confirm 26-strong panel for All-Ireland senior camogie championships

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick Camogie seek ratification for new look backroom team

LIMERICK have confirmed a 26-strong panel for the Liberty Insurance All-Ireland Senior Championship.

It's a very much new-look panel for Limerick.

Limerick had a panel of 30 for the Littlewoods Ireland League back in the Spring and 11 of that panel are no longer included for varying reasons.

There are seven fresh faces since the league.

Among those not included are regulars of recent seasons like Niamh Mulcahy, Sarah Carey, Rebecca Delee, Karen O'Leary, Deborah Murphy, Laura Stack, Roisin Ambrose, Lisa Leonard and Katie Hennessy - all nine played in the All-Ireland championship quarter final against Tipperary last season.

Indeed O'Leary, Murphy, Ambrose and Stack all started in Limerick's final round group game in the league against Dublin back on March 8 in LIT.

The new-look panel of 26 players is drawn from 12 clubs.

Recently crowned intermediate club champions Bruff dominate with eight players.

Junior side Ballybrown have five players included in the panel.

Newly crowned senior champions Killeedy have just one representative, as do beaten finalists Newcastle West.

Indeed beaten semi finalists; Ahane and Granagh-Ballingarry only have one representative between them - long serving Judith Mulcahy.

The Paul Sexton managed Limerick are in Group Two of the championship along with Kilkenny, Waterford and Westmeath.

Limerick will open their championship on the weekend of October 17/18 against 2019 intermediate champions Westmeath. 
They are back in action the following weekend, October 24/25, against Waterford.

The Limerick group stages will be completed on November 7/8 against 2019 All-Ireland finalists Kilkenny.

Two teams will advance from Limerick's group - the top team to the semi finals and the second placed side into the quarter finals.

The senior quarter finals are set for November 14-15.

PANELAisling Enright, Caroline Brennan, Eva Butler, Lorraine McCarthy, Katie Finn, Marian Quaid, Mary O'Callaghan, Niamh Ryan (all Bruff); Emma Kate Quinn, Jade Gillane, Neamh Curtin, Kate Healy and Niamh Quinn (all Ballybrown); Laura O'Neill and Sinead McNamara (both Na Piarsaigh); Caoimhe Costelloe and Sophie O'Callaghan (both Adare); Noirin Lenihan and Orlaith Kelleher (both Croagh-Kilfinny); Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen); Dearbhla Egan (Crecora); Ella Whelan (Newcastle West); Judith Mulcahy (Ahane); Karen Mullane (Killeedy); Mairead Ryan (Clooney-Quinn); Muireann Creamer (Cappamore).