UL defeat Maynooth to ensure all-Limerick Fitzgibbon Cup quarter final

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell



UL defeat Maynooth to ensure all-Limerick Fitzgibbon Cup quarter final

Kyle Hayes in action against Maynooth

UL will meet Limerick city rival Mary Immaculate College in the quarter final of the Fitzgibbon Cup after a 0-21 to 1-13 win over Maynooth.

The Limerick sides will meet in Mary Immaculate sportsgrounds on Wednesday/Thursday January 29/31.

The complete line-up for Fitzgibbon Cup quarter finals is UCC v UCD, MIC v UL, DCU v WIT and Carlow IT v NUIG.

UL needed to beat Maynooth this Thursday evening in Maguire's Field to book their passage and Gary Kirby's side got the necessary win.

There were two Limerick man in the UL team - Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskery) and Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), while Ahane's Ciaran Barry was introduced as a substitute.

Hayes was forced off injured late in the game with an ankle injury.

The home side were 0-11 to 1-3 ahead at half time and had also hit seven wides.

Jake Morris sparkled in that opening half with three points from play and was to add another three points from play in the second half.

Ronan Lynch had two first half points for UL as they edged a five point lead at the break.

In the second half, Maynooth battled back led by Andrew Gaffney and Conor Browne in attack.

The game was 0-15 to 1-10 just entering the final quarter.

Fresh from All-Ireland club IHC success in Croke Park last weekend, Martin Keoghan was sprung from the UL bench and his point eased the tension for the home side.

UL scored four of the final five points to ensure victory, albeit a nervy one.

SCORERS: UL: Cian Darcy 0-9 (6frees), Jake Morris 0-6, Shane Golden and Ronan Lynch 0-2 each, Pauric O'Loughlin and Martin Keoghan 0-1 each. Maynooth: Andrew Gaffney 0-6 (4frees, 1 '65), Eoin Molloy 1-0, Conor Drennan 0-2 (1free), Conor Stakelum, Conor Browne, Jack Cullen, Eoghan Ahearn and Sean Clerkin 0-1 each.

UL: Barry Hogan (Tipperary); Jimmy Ryan (Tipperary), Michael Carey (Kilkenny), Eddie Gunning (Cork); Brian McGrath (Tipperary), Bryan O'Mara (Tipperary), Padraic Campion (Tipperary); Kevin McDonald (Carlow), Jack Shelly (Tipperary); Shane Golden (Clare), Kyle Hayes (Limerick), Padraic O'Loughlin (Clare); Ronan Lynch (Limerick), Jake Morris (Tipperary), Cian Darcy (Tipperary). Subs: Conor O'Callaghan (Cork) for Brian McGrath (38mins), Maretin Keoghan (Kilkenny) for Jack Shelly (43mins), Ciaran Barry (Limerick) for Jimmy Ryan (52mins), Ross Hayes (Clare) for Kyle Hayes, inj (56mins) Shane Neville for Shane Golden (59mins).

MAYNOOTH: Sean Buggy (Kilkenny); Diarmaid Conway (Laois), Cormac Byrne (Wexford), Diarmuid Kehoe (Wexford); Jack Cullen (Wexford), Eoin Molloy (Wexford), Cathal Moloney (Tipperary); Robbie Buckley (Kilkenny), Eoghan Ahearn (Westmeath); Conor Stakelum (Tipperary), Conor Browne (Kilkenny), Andrew Gaffney (Kilkenny); Conor Drennan (Kilkenny), Sean Clerkin (Dublin), Mikie Dwyer (Wexford). Subs: Jake O'Dwyer for Conor Drennan (43mins), Jamie Young (Kilkenny) for Cormac Byrne (56mins).

REFEREE: Cathal McAllister (Cork).