Search our Archive


Limerick minor hurling team selected to play Cork in Munster MHC

Limerick minor hurling team selected to play Cork in Munster MHC

THE Limerick minor hurling team has been named to play Cork in Sunday's Munster Minor Hurling Championship.

It's a opening game of the championship for Limerick, but round two for Cork, who beat Tipperary last Sunday.

The game has a 2pm start in the LIT Gaelic Grounds - the curtain-raiser to the 4pm start for the senior game.

The Limerick team is captained from full back by Micheal Keane, who is one of the six members of the starting team that saw championship action last year along with Jimmy Quilty, Colin Coughlan, Patrick Kirby, Diarmuid Hegarty and Cathal O'Neill.

There are 13 different clubs represented in the starting 15 with Ballybrown and Effin both with two players each.

The Limerick minor team (U17) are managed by Diarmuid Mullins (Mungret) with Coach-Selectors; Richie Flannery, John Meskell (Ahane), Tommy Quaid (Effin) and strength and conditioning coach Darragh Droog (Na Piarsaigh).

LIMERICK: Jack Franklin (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Ronan Lyons (Monaleen), Michael Keane (Adare), Fergal O'Connor (Effin); Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock), Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown); Adam Murrihy (Ahane), Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell); Patrick Reale (Knockainey), Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patricks), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister); Aidan O'Connor (Ballybrown), Adam English (Doon), Patrick O'Donovan (Effin). Subs: TJ Kelly (Kileedy), Michael Cremin (Newcastle West), Sean Mortell (St Patricks), Darragh Casey (Granagh-Ballingarry), Odhran O'Dwyer (Mungret St Pauls), Cian Casey (Ahane), Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock), Michael Ryan (Murroe-Boher), Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls). Extended panel: Brian O'Meara (Mungret St Pauls), Conor Linnane (Pallasgreen), Eddie Stokes (Doon), John Kirby (Patrickswell), Luke O'Connor (Ballybrown), Ned Quinn (Ballybrown), Rory Hannon (Crecora-Manister), Sam Williams (Bruree), Shaun Moloney (Glenroe).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.