Garryowen eye Bateman glory on live TV as Bruff look to boost promotion hopes

Garryowen eye Bateman glory on live TV as Bruff look to boost promotion hopes

Munster's Neil Cronin is set to at scrum-half for Garryowen in Saturday's Bateman Cup final clash with City of Armagh , live on RTE TV

GARRYOWEN FC's Bateman Cup final clash with City of Armagh will be televised live on RTE 2 this Easter Saturday.

The game at St Mary’s RFC in Templeville Road kicks-off at 12.30pm, with TV coverage of the final beginning at 12.15pm.

Conan Doyle’s Garryowen side earned the right to compete in the Bateman Cup competition as a result of their Munster Senior Cup final success of last season.

Final opponents City of Armagh finished in eighth place in Division 1B of the All-Ireland League this season and secured their Bateman Cup final place with a 29-13 semi-final win over Buccaneers.

The 'Light Blues' side then secured their place in this weekend's final by defeating Leinster Senior Cup winners Lansdowne 14-12 in their semi-final showdown at Dooradoyle last January.

Garryowen last won the Bateman Cup in 2012 beating Ballymena in the final on a 24-6 scoreline.

The Bateman Cup competition was played annually between the four provincial cup winners on the last weekend of the season, beginning in 1922 when Lansdowne defeated Cork Constitution 6-5 in the final.

Young Munster were the first Limerick winners of the Cup in 1928.

Ireland Under-20 Grand Slam winner Ben Healy and Munster’s Neil Cronin will pair up at half-back for Garryowen’s shot at a second Bateman Cup title in eight years.

GARRYOWEN: Jamie Heuston; Bryan Fitzgerald, Dave McCarthy, Peadar Collins, Cian O’Shea; Ben Healy, Neil Cronin; Niall Horan, Liam Cronin, Andy Keating, Kevin Seymour, Dean Moore (capt), Tim Ferguson, Jack Daly, Darren Ryan. Replacements: Jack Mullany, Conor Fitzgerald, Alan Fitzgerald, Rob Guerin, Jamie Gavin, Roy Whelan, Andrew O’Byrne.

CITY OF ARMAGH: Tim McNiece; Evin Crummie, Chris Colvin (capt), Jonny Pollock, Shea O’Brien; Harry Boyd, Harry Doyle; Paul Mullen, Jonny Morton, Philip Fletcher, Peter Starrett, Josh McKinley, Nigel Simpson, Robbie Whitten, Neil Faloon. Replacements: Oisin Kiernan, Andrew Smyth, James Hanna, James Morton, Gareth Treanor, Cormac Fox, Andrew Willis, Chris Cousens, Stephen Morton.

MEANWHILE, Bruff will look to move a step closer to promotion to Division 2B of the All-Ireland League this Saturday when travelling to Midleton for their semi-final play-off.

Consistent Bruff secured a third-placed finish in Division 2C on Saturday last when scoring an impressive 26-8 bonus point win over this weekend’s opponents Midleton at Kilballyowen Park.

The victory ensured Bruff went through their home games in the AIL this season unbeaten.

Reaching the promotion semi-final play-off this season marks an impressive turnaround in Bruff’s fortunes this season as the South Limerick side had to rely on winning a relegation play-off against Bandon 12 months ago to avoid dropping out of senior ranks.

This Saturday’s promotion semi-final clash with Munster rivals Midleton has a 2.30pm kick-off at Towns Park.

Should Bruff manage to overcome Midleton this weekend, they will face either Skerries or Malahide in the promotion play-off final with the winner of that game playing their rugby in Division 2B of the All-Ireland League next season.

Bruff finished one place and four points behind Midleton in the Division 2C table at the end of the 18-game regular season.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.