Search our Archive


Scoil Pol Kilfinane win rare Munster Colleges football title for Limerick

Scoil Pol Kilfinane win rare Munster Colleges football title for Limerick

KILFINANE'S Scoil Pol were crowned Munster Post Primary School senior football champions this Tuesday.

The south Limerick side were 3-9 to 2-10 winners over Killorglin Community College in the Senior E final.

This Tuesday's final was played in Rathkeale's Mick Neville Park.

After a first half that was briefly stopped for a heavy shower of hailstones, Kilfinane were 3-5 to 0-6 ahead.

But mid-way through the second half the interval lead of eight points was eroded as the Kerry side battled back to level - 3-6 to 2-9.

Killorglin then forged ahead for the first time in the final but back came the Limerick men in style to score the final three points to secure the title.

Managed by teachers; Eoin Walsh (Ballylanders), Richard Lenihan (Cappagh) and Pat Kelly (Clarecastle, Co Clare), Scoil Pol were captained by David O'Neill (Ballylanders).

The south Limerick school won four games to reach the provincial final.

They opened their championship with victory over Colaiste Cluain Meale of Tipperary and then scored nine goals enroute to an easy win over St Michael of Kilmihil, Co Clare.

In the Munster quarter final, Kilfinane were 3-15 to 1-5 winners over Meanscoil san Nioclas of Dungarvan, Co Waterford.

The semi final was a much tighter affair - a single point win over the reigning champions, St John Bosco of Kildysert, Co Clare - 1-9 to 1-8.

KILFINANE: Adam O'Dohery (Galbally), Rhys Fitzgerald (Ballylanders), Robert Sampson (Galbally), Danny Hayes (Ballylanders), Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock), Patrick Shanahan (Ballylanders), Ciaran Sheehan (Galbally), Daniel Blade (Ballylanders), Shaun Moloney (Ballylanders); Killian Meade (Ballylanders), Eoin McGrath (Galbally), Shane O'Donoghue (Ballylanders); Liam Dennehy (Ballylanders), David O'Neill (Ballylanders), Jack O'Reilly (Galbally). Subs: Brian Howard (Ballylanders), Mikey Duggan (Blackrock), Oisin Browne (Ballylanders), Michael Cleary (Ballylanders), Edward Noonan (Ballylanders), Colm O'Keeffe (Blackrock), Kevin Cooke (Galbally), Patrick McGrath (Galbally), Owen O'Sullivan (Galbally), Micheal Brazil (Blackrock), David Sexton (Bruree).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.