Limerick hurling heroes win six All Star awards

Donn O'Sullivan


Donn O'Sullivan


Limerick hurling stars win xx All Stars

2018 PwC All Stars

There was yet more glory for All-Ireland champions Limerick this evening as they were awarded six places on the PwC All-Star hurling team of 2018.

It was a big night for the Treaty County. After defeating Galway to win their first Liam MacCarthy Cup since 1973, the six PwC All-Stars captured here brings their overall total to 53 hurling awards, and the 2018 tally is one better than the five awards they received when they defeated Kilkenny in the 1973 decider.

Sean Finn, Richie English, Declan Hannon and Dan Morrissey dominate the defence, while Cian Lynch is named in midfield, with Graham Mulcahy completing the full forward line.

Four other counties share in the awards with Kilkenny’s Eoin Murphy picking up his second PwC All-Star for his goalkeeping heroics.

Galway dual star Daithí Burke makes it a remarkable four in a row for All-Star awards at full back, while Hurler of the Year Nominee Galway’s Pádraic Mannion is named at wing back.

Cork’s Darragh Fitzgibbon completes the midfield line up, with his Rebel County teammates Seamus Harnedy and Patrick Horgan named in the attack - where Horgan is now a three-time All-Star.

Joe Canning is again named in the centre forward position and claims a staggering fifth career PwC All-Star in the process. Clare’s prolific duo of John Conlon and Peter Duggan complete the forward list.

The PwC All-Star team was selected by a panel of senior Gaelic Games Correspondents and chaired by Uachtarán CLG John Horan.

2018 PwC All-Stars Hurling


Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) Previous winner in 2016


Sean Finn (Limerick)
Daithí Burke (Galway) Previous winner in 2015/16/17
Richie English (Limerick)
Pádraic Mannion (Galway) Previous winner in 2017
Declan Hannon (Limerick)
Dan Morrissey (Limerick)


Cian Lynch (Limerick)
Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)


Peter Duggan (Clare)
Joe Canning (Galway) Previous winner in 2008, 2009, 2012, 2017
Seamus Harnedy (Cork) Previous winner in 2013
Patrick Horgan (Cork) Previous winner in 2013, 2017
John Conlon (Clare)
Graeme Mulcahy (Limerick)


Kilkenny 1

Limerick 6

Galway 3

Clare 2

Cork 3

Those to miss out on the night for Limerick were Nickie Quaid, Mike Casey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Darragh O'Donovan, Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane and Seamus Flanagan