Search our Archive


Five newcomers in Limerick football team to face Clare in Munster SFC

Five newcomers in Limerick football team to face Clare in Munster SFC

Limerick football manager Billy Lee

THERE are five debuts in Limerick senior football team to play Clare in this Saturday evening’s Munster SFC.

Billy Lee has included former captain Iain Corbett among the substitutes just over one week after he returned from a Tour of Duty with the Defence Forces in Lebanon.

Making their first championship starts are Adare duo David Connolly and Paul Maher, Na Piarsaigh’s Gordan Browne, Mike Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon) and Patrick Begley (Mungret St Pauls).

Fitzgibbon and Browne didn’t feature in any of the six games during the Allianz Football League, where Limerick won just one and lost four of their six games in Division Four.

Begley was full back on the Munster U-21 hurling side of 2011 and follows his older brother Brian in playing championship football for Limerick. Their father is a former Clare senior football manager.

Limerick and Clare are meeting for the fourth successive year with The Banner winning each of the three previous meetings.

Just seven players remain in the Limerick starting line-up from last year in Ennis – captain Donal O’Sullivan, vice-captains Sean O'Dea and Paul White, Darragh Treacy, Peter Nash and Garrett Noonan.

Among those absent from last season, are Brian Fanning and Seamus O’Carroll who were regulars throughout this season’s league. It is understood Fanning withdrew from the panel after the league, while O’Carroll is out injured.

The provincial quarter final tie takes place in the Gaelic Grounds at 7.00 and isn’t live on television. The winner advances to a June 3 semi final with Kerry in Killarney. The loser will be in All Ireland SFC Qualifier action on Saturday June 9.

LIMERICK: Donal O’Sullivan (Monaleen); Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), David Connolly (Adare); Paul Maher (Adare), Cillian Fahy (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Gordon Browne (Na Piarsaigh); Darragh Treacy (St Kierans), Patrick Begley (Mungret St Pauls), Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Michael Fitzgibbon (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Paul White (Rathkeale); Sean McSweeney (St Kierans), Danny Neville (Ballysteen), Jamie Lee (Newcastle West). Subs: James Brouder (Mountcollins), Oran Collins (Adare), Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys), Colm McSweeney (Gerald Griffins), Iain Corbett (Newcastle West), Josh Ryan (Oola), Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins), Tony McCarthy (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Killian Ryan (Mungret St Pauls), Davey Lyons (Adare), Padraig Scanlon (Glin).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.