Search our Archive


Limerick hurling team confirmed with two newcomers for Tipperary Munster SHC tie

Limerick hurling team confirmed with two newcomers for Tipperary Munster SHC tie

2017 U-21 Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane gets Munster SHC start for Limerick

MANAGER John Kiely has named his Limerick team to play Tipperary in Sunday’s Munster SHC.

Fuil forward line duo Aaron Gillane and Seamus Flanagan have been handed first championship starts for the Gaelic Grounds encounter.

There is no representation from All Ireland club SHC finalists Na Piarsaigh in the starting line-up – there are four listed among the 11 substitutes.

There are two changes to the side that lost after extra time to Tipperary in the semi final of the Allianz Hurling League – Darragh O’Donovan and Graeme Mulcahy in for Colin Ryan and Barry Murphy.

Last season Limerick exited the championship with an All Ireland SHC Qualifier defeat to Kilkenny. There are six changes from that Nowlan Park loss – Gillane, Flanagan, Diarmaid Byrnes, Richie English, Tom Morrissey and Graeme Mulcahy forcing their way into the team.

There are 11 different clubs represented in the team with Patrickswell leading the way with three players – Ahane and Doon with two each.

There is no place in the matchday panel for Kevin Downes, Barry Nash or Colin Ryan, among others. Peter Casey is the only player to miss out through injury.

Sunday’s game has a 2.00 start in the Gaelic Grounds and is live on RTE 2 television. The Limerick v Tipperary game is the first of four group games for Limerick. Round Two is in Pairc Ui Chaoimh against Cork on Saturday (7.00) June 2.

Declan Hannon captains the team from centre back. Kyle Hayes and Seamus Flanagan are the only two current U-21s in the team. Six of the team won an All Ireland U-21 medal last September.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Sean Finn (Bruff), Seamus Hickey (Murroe-Boher), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock). Subs: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Paul Browne (Bruff), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Barry Murphy (Doon), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Pat Ryan (Doon).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.