Shannon's Ulster Bank League promotion bid on track with bonus point win at Dolphin

Shannon's Ulster Bank League promotion bid on track with bonus point win at Dolphin

Kelvin Brown, in possession scored two tries for Shannon in their Ulster Bank League win over Dolphin at Musgrave Park

RESILIENT Shannon kept their promotion back on track in Division 1B of the Ulster Bank League with a crucial 29-17 bonus point win over struggling Dolphin at Musgrave Park.

Shannon ran in four tries in seeing off their Munster rivals, who are now relegated to 2A, with back-row Kelvin Brown grabbing a brace for the visitors.

The win sees Tom Hayes’ Shannon side jump up to second place in the table, ahead of Banbridge on scoring difference and one point behind leaders Ballynahinch who occupy the automatic promotion position.

Shannon’s next game is an away date with Old Belvedere on Saturday next, while the Parish side complete their regular season with a home game against UCC on Saturday, April 14.

Shannon led their hosts 14-10 at half-time at Musgrave Park, thanks to tries from Ty Chan and Will Leonard, both converted by Conor Fitzgerald.

A 42nd minute try from Kelvin Brown, his first of two touchdowns, helped the Limeirck side pull clear and the try bonus point was secure when Brown got over for his second try on 55 minutes.

Fitzgerald kicked three conversions and a penaly goal to seal a precious victory.

Scorers: Dolphin: Tries: Dave Byrne, Daryl Foley; Cons: Barry Keeshan 2; Pen: Barry Keeshan. Shannon: Tries: Ty Chan, Will Leonard, Kelvin Brown 2; Cons: Conor Fitzgerald 3; Pen: Conor Fitzgerald

DOLPHIN: Timmy Phelan; Colin Sisk, Gary O'Keeffe, Ian O'Donoghue, Will Hanly; Barry Keeshan, Daryl Foley; Liam Walsh, Dave Byrne, James Rochford (capt), Alex Denby, Rob O'Herlihy, Barry Fitzgerald, Kevin Allen, Kevin O'Leary. Replacements: Caolan O'Flynn, Anthony Mason, Killian O'Keeffe, Eamon Boland, Peter Hyde, James Vaughan, John Leahy.

SHANNON: Fionn McGibney; Greg O'Shea, Jack O'Donnell, Will Leonard, Darren Gavin; Conor Fitzgerald, Aaron Hehir; Conor Glynn, Ty Chan, Tony Cusack, Jade Kriel, Sean McCarthy, Lee Nicholas (capt), Kelvin Brown, John Foley. Replacements: Luke O'Halloran, Emmet O'Callaghan, Ronan Coffey, Keith Kavanagh, Eathon Moloney.


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.