Munster A crash out of British and Irish Cup at hands of Leinster A

Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Colm Kinsella, Rugby Correspondent


Munster A crash out of British and Irish Cup at hands of Leinster A

Munster A's Calvin Nash tackles Conor O'Brien, of Leinster A in their British and Irish Cup quarter-final at Donnybrook on Good Friday

HOLDERS Munster A bowed out of the British and Irish Cup at the quarter-final stage when suffering a disappointing 17-6 defeat to Leinster A at Donnybrook on Good Friday.

Munster A trailed by a single point, 6-7, at half-time as out-half Bill Johnston converted two first half penalty goals for the visitors.

Leinster’s try came courtesy of Peader Timmins with Ciarán Frawley converting.

Home side Leinster took control of the game at the start of the final quarter when Frawley who kicked a penalty goal also converted a 62nd minute try from Jack Kelly.

Munster A exerted a good deal of pressure on their hosts through the closing 18 minutes in a bid to notch the score necessary to haul themselves back into the game.

However, Leinster A’s defence held firm to deny Munster a way back into the contest.

MUNSTER A: Stephen Fitzgerald; Calvin Nash, Dave Johnston (capt), Alex McHenry, Ronan O'Mahony; Bill Johnston, Jack Stafford; Jeremy Loughman, Kevin O'Byrne, Brian Scott, Sean O'Connor, Darren O'Shea, Dave O'Callaghan, Conor Oliver, Jack O'Sullivan. Replacements: Mike Sherry for Kevin O’Byrne (injured, 39 mins), Ciaran Parker for Brian Scott (46 mins), Brian Scott for Loughman (injured, 54 mins), Jack Power for Stephen Fitzgerald 60 mins, John Poland for Jack Stafford (63 mins),  John Foley for O’Sullivan (66 mins), Alan Tynan for Ronan O’Mahony (72 mins), Jack Daly for O’Callaghan (79 mins).

LEINSTER A: Jack Kelly; Tommy O'Brien, Gavin Mullin, Conor O'Brien, Barry Daly; Ciaran Frawley, Charlie Rock; Ed Byrne, Bryan Byrne (capt), Vakh Abdaladze, Mick Kearney, Ian Nagle, Oisin Dowling, Peadar Timmins, Josh Murphy. Replacements: Sean McNulty, Peter Dooley, Michael Bent, Ronan Foley, Hugh O'Sullivan, Harry Byrne, Sean O'Brien.