VOTE: Pick a winner as Limerick's hurlers face off in the boxing ring

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell

VOTE: Pick a winner as Limerick's hurlers face off in the boxing ring

Limerick hurlers who are preparing for Fight Night this Saturday Night

THE Limerick senior hurlers go between the ropes this Saturday night for their fund-raising Night of Boxing in the South Court Hotel.

This week 18 members of the Limerick senior hurling panel received their boxing record cards after passing full medicals at the end of their intensive boxing training.

St Francis Boxing Club coaches Ken Moore and Valerie Donovan put the panel through their paces and last Sunday at the official weigh-in the hurlers turned boxers were divided into two teams and the pairings were confirmed.

There will be nine boxing bouts on Saturday, with the first duo in the ring at 7.30. Each fight will be three rounds of two minutes. You can pick who you think will win each bout below.

The first fight sees U-21 All Ireland winners; Colin Ryan and Oisin O’Reilly opening proceedings.

Next up is Andrew La Touche Cosgrave against Darragh O’Donovan, followed by Sean Finn against Pat Ryan.

The fourth scheduled bout of three two minute rounds is between Barry Hennessy and Paul Browne.

All Ireland U-21 winning captain Tom Morrissey will then face Declan Hannon.

Bout six will be between two time All Ireland U-21 winners Barry Nash and Seamus Flanagan.

U-21 Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane is up next against David Reidy. At the same time on Saturday night Gillane will be honoured in Cork’s Fota Island Resort Hotel as the Munster U-21 Hurler of the Year.

The penultimate fight of the night will see 2015 All Ireland U-21 winning captain Diarmaid Byrnes against this season’s centre back Kyle Hayes.

The final bout sees Mary Immaculate College Fitzgibbon Cup winning team-mates Richie English and Cian Lynch in the ring.

Tickets remain on public sale from 061-335516 or by email to

Tickets will be on sale on the door on Saturday – doors open at 6.30. Tickets cost €20 for adults and €10 for children. There is a €50 family ticket and ringside seats are €35.

RED TEAM: Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Sean Finn (Bruff), Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Richie English (Doon)

BLUE TEAM: Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Paul Browne (Bruff), Declan Hannon (Adare), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)

Pick your winner below: