Limerick colleges drawn apart in Fitzgibbon Cup

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick colleges drawn part in Fitzgibbon Cup

Monaleen's Lorcan Lyons at Thursday's Fitzgibbon Cup draw

ALL three Limerick teams have been drawn apart in the group stages of the Fitzibbon Cup.

Back-to-back champions Mary Immaculate College are drawn in the only four team group. The Jamie Wall managed side will play IT Carlow in a repeat of last year’s final and also NUI Galway and Trinity.

The Gary Kirby managed UL will play Dublin IT and Waterford IT in Group 2.

LIT will have DCU and Garda in Group 3.

Group 1 is Cork IT UCC and UCC.

Two teams from each group will advance to teh quarter finals of the third level senior hurling championship.

In the Sigeron Cup, UL are the only Limerick entrant.

Last year UL reached the semi final stage and are again managed by former Limerick senior football coach and current Monaleen footballer Brian Carson.

UL have been drawn at home to Cork IT in round one.

The full round one draw for the Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup is Garda/Athlone v UCC, NUIG v IT Sligo, Queens v IT Tralee, DIT v IT Carlow, St Mary's v University Ulster, UL v CIT, Maynooth University v UCD, DKIT v DCU Dochas Eireann.