Limerick's Mulcahy gets call-up to Camogie All Stars Tour

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick's Mulcahy gets call-up to Camogie All Stars Tour

2017 Limerick camogie captain Niamh Mulcahy

LIMERICK camogie star Niamh Mulcahy has received a call-up to the inaugural Liberty Insurance Camogie All-Stars Tour.

The Ahane ace captained Limerick in 2017 and was an All Star nominee for the past two seasons.

While not honoured with an All Star, Mulcahy will take a place in the touring party as a number of places became available due to the presence of players with back-to-back awards and others who are unavailable to travel.

Recipients of All-Stars Awards from 2016 and 2017 as well as several nominees, including Mulcahy, will take off for Madrid on Wednesday November 29 where they will play an exhibition match in Universidad Complutense de Madrid on Thursday November 30.

The teams will include stars from eight counties – Cork’s Paudie Murray and Kilkenny’s Ann Downey will manage the sides.

Antrim’s Owen Elliott who refereed this year’s Senior All-Ireland Final will be the man in the middle for the exhibition match. O’Neills Sportswear are the official kit suppliers for the Tour.

The Tour will also engage with the local Irish community in Madrid with a reception at the Irish Embassy and the Tour will also be hosted by Madrid Harps GAA Club. 

2017 All-Stars Team: Aoife Murray (Cork); Tara Kenny (Galway), Catherine Foley (Kilkenny), Laura Treacy (Cork); Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Maire McGrath (Clare), Eimear O’Sullivan (Cork); Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Ashling Thompson (Cork); Chloe Morey (Clare), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Amy O’Connor (Cork); Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Aisling Maher (Dublin), Aoife Donohue (Galway).

2016 All-Stars Team: Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny); Sarah O’Connor (Wexford), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Collette Dormer (Kilkenny); Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny); Orla Cotter (Cork), Michaela Morkan (Offaly); Shelley Kehoe (Wexford), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny) Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick); Tina Hannon (Offaly), Kate Kelly (Wexford).