Munster women lose historic fixture with Barbarians in Limerick

Munster women lose historic fixture with Barbarians in Limerick

Christelle LeDuff, of Barbarians RFC, is tackled by Munster's Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird during the women's representative match at Thomond Park on Friday evening

THE Munster Women’s team were beaten 19-0 by the Barbarians side in their historic clash at a rain-soaked Thomond Park on Friday night.

The Barbarians Women’s team, featuring players from seven nations, were playing their first-ever fixture and named a 23-strong squad for the occasion.

The star-studded visitors proved too good for a plucky Munster side as a first-half penalty try was followed by further tries in the second half as Ireland international Ailis Egan scored off a counter-attack before Tania Rosser finished off a length of the field move for a third Barbarians try. 

Munster head coach Laura Guest played a different XV in each half with the interprovincial series now just three weeks away.

Forward power laid the platform for the Baa-baas as their scrum earned a penalty try just before the half-hour and Barbarian flair clinched the win in the second half as the invitational side added two further tries after the break.

MUNSTER (First half): Laura O’Mahony (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland 7s); Deirbhile Nic a Bhaird (UL Bohemian RFC), Aine Staunton (UL Bohemian RFC), Christine Arthurs (Highfield RFC/Ireland 7s), Syphonia Pua (UL Bohemian RFC); Valerie Power (Shannon RFC), Nicole Cronin  (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland & Ireland 7s); Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland), Edel Murphy (UL Bohemian RFC), Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland); Nuala O’Connor (Tralee RFC), Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland); Dinah O’Mahony (Bandon RFC), Siobhan Fleming (Tralee RFC/Ireland) (Capt), Anna Caplice (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland & Ireland 7s).

MUNSTER (Second half): Linda McNamara (Highfield RFC); Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemian RFC), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland & Ireland 7s), Rachel Allen (UL Bohemian RFC), Tracy Collopy (Shannon RFC); Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere RFC), Helen McDermott (UL Bohemian RFC); Leah Lyons (Highfield RFC/Ireland), Zoe Grattage (Highfield RFC/Ireland), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland); Eileen Foley (Bandon RFC), Roisin Ormond (Ballincollig RFC); Clodagh O’Halloran (UL Bohemian RFC), Siobhan McCarthy (Railway Union RFC), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian RFC/Ireland).

BARBARIANS: Jackie Shiels (Old Belvedere) (Georgina Roberts (Darlington MP Shark) 41 mins); Tova Derk (Wasps), Vicki Jackson (Wasps) (Amanda Thornborough (Westshore) ’40), Megan Goddard (Gloucester-Hartpury), Elen Evans (Caernarfon) (Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere) 49 mins); Christelle LeDuff (SO Villonguet), Emma Jensen (College Rifles) (Tania Rosser (Blackrock) 55 mins); Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians) (Tracy Balmer (Worcester) 53 mins), Amy Garnett (Saracens) (Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere) 40 mins), Claire Cripps (Wasps) (Garnett 67 mins); Marie Riley (Old Belvedere) (Becky Essex (Richmond) 47 mins), Lenaige Corson (Stade Rennais); Susie Brown (Richmond) (Edel McMahon (Galwegians) 47 mins), Rachel Taylor (Caernarfon), Kelly Russell (Toronto Nomads).


More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.