Search our Archive


Magnificent seven for new Pro12 leaders Munster

Magnificent seven for new Pro12 leaders Munster

MUNSTER stormed to the top of the Guinness Pro12 table after scoring a facile 46-3 bonus point victory over basement side Treviso at Thomond Park on Saturday.

Munster ran in seven tries in a facile victory, with full-back Andrew Conway and Ronan O’Mahony helping themselves to a brace of touchdowns, while Robin Copeland, Darren O’Shea and Alex Wootton, his first senior try for Munster, also dotted down.

O’Shea’s 42nd minute try, his first five-pointer in the Pro12, sealed the bonus point for Rassie Erasmus’ side which had began the game slowly and were level 3-3 with the visitors towards the end of the opening quarter.

In-form Munster have jumped one point ahead of second-placed Leinster and two points clear of the third-placed Ospreys in the Pro12 table.

Man of the Match Tyler Bleyendaal added three conversions and a penalty goal for a Munster side which led 22-3 at half-time before an official attendance of 12,196.

However, the actual number of spectators inside the ground was probably closer to 4,000-5,000 as the official attendance includes absentee season ticket holders.

The game saw for starts in the red of Munster for former Ulster centre Sam Arnold and New Zealand hooker Rhys Marshall.

Next up for Munster is a demanding Guinness Pro12 away fixture against Galsgow at Scotstoun on Friday night, 7.35pm, before the focus switches to the crucial back-to-back fixtures with Leicester Tigers in the European Champions Cup.

MUNSTER: Andrew Conway; Darren Sweetnam, Sam Arnold, Jaco Taute, Ronan O'Mahony; Tyler Bleyendaal, Duncan Williams; Dave Kilcoyne, Rhys Marshall, John Ryan, Dave Foley, Darren O'Shea, Jack O'Donoghue, Tommy O'Donnell (capt), Robin Copeland. Replacements used: Niall Scannell, Thomas du Toit, Stephen Archer, Jean Kleyn, Billy Holland, Angus Lloyd, Ian Keatley, Alex Wootton.

BENETTON TREVISO: Jayden Hayward; Michael Tagicakibau, Tommaso Iannone, Alberto Sgarbi (capt), Luca Sperandio; Ian McKinley, Tito Tebaldi; Alberto de Marchi, Luca Bigi, Matteo Zanusso, Filippo Gerosa, Michael van Vuuren, Marco Lazzaroni, Filippo Ferrarini, Marco Barbini. Replacements used: Davide Giazzon, Federico Zani, Tiziano Pasquali, Roberto Santamaria, Federico Conforti, Andrea Pratichetti, David Odiete.

REFEREE: Mike Adamson (Scotland)




More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.