Limerick duo in Harty Cup action as champions Ardscoil Rs begin title defence

Jerome O'Connell


Jerome O'Connell


Limerick duo in Harty Cup action as champions Ardscoil Rs begin title defence

CHAMPIONS Ardscoil Ris begin the defence of their Harty Cup title this Wednesday.

The North Circular Road school will have five survivors from the starting team that won a fourth title in seven years last Spring.

All five – Brian Ryan, Darragh Carroll, Jerome Boylan, Paul O’Brien and Ronan Connolly – progressed to play with Limerick in September’s All Ireland MHC final loss to Tipperary in Croke Park.

Another 2016 Limerick minor David Woulfe is a newcomer to Ardscoil Ris this season. Today he will be team-mates with a host of Na Piarsaigh players but on Saturday (2.00) they will be in opposition in the County Minor Hurling Final in Bruff.

In a new-look Harty Cup, Ardscoil Ris travel to Mallow to play Bandon. A win for the Limerick city side will book a spot in the first round proper on November 30 against Charleville CBS in a repeat of the 2011 final, while defeat will see Ardscoil Ris play Our Ladys Templemore in a repeat of last February’s Munster senior A Post Primary Schools hurling final.

Elsewhere today (1.30), Doon’s Scoil Na Trioniode play CBC in Charleville.

A win for the east Limerick school will see them play Midleton CBS in the next round, while a Doon defeat will ensure a tie with Rochestown next.

Castletroy are also on track to reach the next phase ahead of their remaining game against Blackwater. A win will confirm a spot against De La Salle, while defeat would see Castletroy play Nenagh in the next round.