Stander back for Ireland's decisive test with 'Boks

Stander back for Ireland's decisive test with 'Boks

MUNSTER captain CJ Stander returns to Ireland’s starting XV for Saturday’s decisive Third Test with his native South Africa at Port Elizabeth, 4pm.

Stander missed last weekend’s defeat to the Springboks as he was serving a one match ban following his sending off in Ireland’s historic first test win in Cape Town.

Keith Earls returns to the starting line-up on the wing, while fellow Limerickman Conor Murray will win his 50th cap in the crucial game at scrum-half.

Another Limerickman, Eoin Reddan, is set to retire after Saturday’s game. Old Crescent clubman and Leinster number nine Reddan is in line to win his 71st cap off the bench.

Full-back Jared Payne will miss Saturday’s Test due to a calf injury.

Connacht’s Tiernan O’Halloran will start for his country for the first time at full-back, while Stuart Olding and Luke Marshall have been paired together in midfield in what is a make-shift backline.

IRELAND: Tiernan O’Halloran; Andrew Trimble, Luke Marshall, Stuart Olding, Keith Earls, Paddy Jackson, Conor Murray; Jack McGrath, Rory Best (Capt), Mike Ross; Iain Henderson, Devin Toner; CJ Stander, Jordi Murphy, Jamie Heaslip. Reps: Sean Cronin, Finlay Bealham, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Rhys Ruddock, Eoin Reddan, Ian Madigan, Matt Healy.

SOUTH AFRICA: Willie le Roux; Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Mapoe, Damian de Allende, JP Pietersen; Elton Jantjes, Faf du Klerk; Tendai Mtawarira, Adriaan Strauss (capt), Frans Malherbe; Eben Etzebeth, Pieter-Steph du Toit; Francois Louw, Siya Kolisi, Warren Whiteley. Reps: Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff, Julian Redelinghuys, Franco Mostert, Jaco Kriel, Rudy Paige, Morne Steyn, Lwazi Mvovo.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.